Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 7, 2008 / 2 Nissan 5768

Meet the new boss …

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, I learned that my long-time book publisher was resigning to try something new. A senior member of his staff would replace him. In short, I had lost an old boss and gained a new one.


It got me thinking how many times this has happened in my life, and how personal it still feels. Like a substitute teacher stepping before the chalkboard, like a babysitter waving hello, her coat over her arm, the introduction of a new "authority" goes back a long way in our lives. It almost feels primal.


But with a boss, it's a never-ending feeling. Think about how much of your day is spent trying to make the boss happy, how many hours you invest trying to please, avoid, impress or affect this person who controls your working fate. Most people I know have their daily outlook shaped by the mood of their boss. ("Oh, he's on the warpath today." "Oh, man, he's making my life Hell on Earth.") A great boss, work is upbeat. A bad boss, your day can be torture.


With a position this influential, any change can be profound.


Yet it happens all the time.

HERE TODAY, GONE TOMORROW
The guy who hires you suddenly gets promoted. The company you signed with suddenly gets sold. One morning you come into the office, same as the other mornings, but there is a certain buzz in the hallway, a hasty gathering in a conference room, and an unfamiliar man in a nice suit is standing with his hands crossed, being introduced with the words "… will be taking over for now."


At this newspaper, the man who hired me was gone a few months after I arrived. He was replaced with a guy I, luckily, got along with well, but in time that guy left and was replaced with another (who, thankfully, I get along with, too).


At my second book publisher, two of the top three people who signed me left for other jobs before I turned in a page.


At my first radio station, I saw four different men sit in the big office. Four different "heart-to-heart" talks about how I fit into their plans.


We constantly try to make headway with bosses, only to wake up and find another in their place. Alliances crumble. The guy who "kissed up" to the boss is laughed at for wasting his time. The woman who always angered the boss gets a new lease on life. The promises an old boss made evaporate like steam on a window.


And you wonder why you twisted yourself in knots for someone who could depart so easily.

WHO'S THE BOSS?
Have you ever met an old boss later in life? Run into him or her on the street? Isn't there part of you that wants to say something — maybe beginning with "You know, now that I'm not working for you anymore…"? Or maybe you share a heart-to-heart, how bad things have gotten since that boss left, how much you yearn for the good old days.


Either way, when you walk away, you are reminded of just how much one person can affect you, and then become a person who has no bearing on your fate at all. It is the reason Kipling once advised to let "all men count with you, but none too much."


So this week, I have another new boss. And it's OK. I think I've learned, maybe the hard way, to let go of the "too much" part, to recognize that bosses are just men and women who, for a brief moment in life, make decisions that affect you. But how much they affect you is still in your control. The real trick in life, when it comes to bosses, is learning how to be your own.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2008, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles