Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 24, 2006 / 26 Nissan, 5766

Shoe Obsession Disorder and your career

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Everyone's looking for a career edge. People try affirmations, $1,000 workshops, and DayTimers heavy enough to double as barbells. There's a more potent career builder: shoes.


Until I started working on this column, I was shoe-oblivious. I mean, I have three pairs: black, brown, and sneakers. My wife has — I'm not exaggerating — 68. When I overhear women talk about shoes, they swoon over the darn things. I don't get it. I'd no more jabber about shoes than I would about jock straps.


But men (and women who aren't shoe fetishists), should read this column. You'll understand Shoe Obsession Disorder and how to use that understanding to boost your career.


To answer the question, "What is it with women and shoes?" I googled "women and shoes." Here's what I learned:


Houston Chronicle writer, Kathy Gibson, began her article, Shoe Obsession Disorder: "Contrary to popular belief, Cinderella's stepsisters were not desperate for Prince Charming — they were desperate for her glass slipper. Unlike shopping for jeans (which is about as much fun as going to the gynecologist), shopping for shoes is an exhilarating experience. Feet don't have hips, feet don't have thighs. Feet are our friends."


Jane Eldershaw, author of Heart and Sole: The Shoes of My Life (St. Martin, 2004), adds "Shoes are fun! Shoes are little personalities just waiting to be put on. Shoes can be instant sex appeal or instant comfort or instant glamour. Just add your feet. With the right shoes you can slip on a whole new image…And shoes are fun to buy. You don't have to diet to fit into them. And you can sit down while you try them on!"


Laura Ball, in the Vail Daily News, is perhaps most instructive: "(With shoes), you get to dream a little. And we do love it when men compliment our shoes, because it's like looking right into our souls." Windows to their souls! Wow. So, I guess, if I want to understand a woman, I'd better look at her shoes?


Whether you're male or female, here are perhaps more potent shoe moves to boost your career.


Say, "Great Shoes!" Ball wrote, "My grandpa said, 'Whenever I compliment a woman on her shoes, she loves it, she just lights up…It's better than any line I know.'" So, at work (or socially), if you're trying to connect with a female co-worker, and especially right before asking for a raise, it couldn't hurt to exclaim, "Great shoes!"


Take a colleague to the shoe store. Want to bond with a female co-worker? Instead of asking her out to lunch, ask if she'd like to go shoe shopping. Men, I'm not sure you should try that.


Women, buy conversation-starting shoes. My client, Annie Shea, who admits to suffering from Shoe Obsession Disorder, says you can get a great shoe fix cheap at Target, which has gorgeous and/or comfortable designs, including those of famed designer Isaac Mizrahi, for $15-25. At that price, you could own 30 pairs for the price of one Blahnik, which, despite the worst imaginable shoe name except maybe for Blahshoe) will set you back $500-700. Why? Because, on Sex in the City, Sarah Jessica Parker told a robber, "Take anything but my Blahniks." Compelled to spend more than $25? Still no need to spend three digits. Try DSW Warehouse, which offers good and hoity-toity-label shoes at real discounts.


Of course, you're aware that curing your shoe shopping addiction will save you money and perhaps your marriage, yet you still buy shoes costly enough to feed a small village. Maybe this will deter you: Many women feel competitive about clothes. So, if you spend big bucks on those hoo-hah designer-label mules, some of your co-workers may think, "Well, just who does she think she is?"


Buy higher heels. As far as I'm concerned, high heels are instruments of self-torture, but Shea responds, "Heels may be uncomfortable, but they make you taller, which makes you confident." Cheaper than psychotherapy — unless you're buying Blahniks.


Keep 'em shined. Keep those leather shoes polished. If not, in our shallow society, you'll probably be devalued. The good news is that at Nordstrom, just steps from those budget-busting Blahniks, you can get a heckuva shoeshine for $2.50.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles