Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 22, 2005 /13 Nisan, 5765

Take Your Sons and Daughters to Grandma’s

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Thursday is "Take Your Sons and Daughters to Work" day, but I have a better idea: let's take our sons and daughters to grandma's.

In 1993, in response to a study by the American Association of University Women that concluded schools were shortchanging girls, the Ms. Foundation established "Take Your Daughters to Work" day. The idea was to bolster self-esteem and encourage girls to think beyond "traditional roles and expectations."

Though such encouragement is a grand idea, some argued that it is boys, not girls, who are in a shambles. Boys ARE more likely to struggle in school, fail to graduate and eventually wake up in a pile of dirty laundry clutching an empty Tequila bottle.

So in 2003 the Ms. Foundation retooled the program. They decided to not only include boys, but to refocus the debate. Their new goal, according to their Web site, is to broaden the discussion about the competing challenges of work and family.

"For girls to achieve their full potential, whether it is in the home, workplace or community," the site says, "boys also must be encouraged to reach their potential by participating fully in family, work and community."

In other words, it is employers and males who must change to allow women to attain fulfilling careers, come in to work late and leave early, as their families' needs dictate, and women better not have to pick up dirty socks or cook dinner when they get home.

I think it's great that women are free to choose "fulfilling careers," but I never understood what is fulfilling about most of them. I've been in the workplace for more than 20 years and most of the people I've encountered would prefer to be at the beach or on a barstool than in a lousy office cubicle.

I've especially never understood the various women I've met and dated in Washington D.C. who routinely log 60 hour weeks — giving up their best energy and their best years — to some paper-pushing job that would be filled within a few weeks were they to get hit by a bus.

If you are a doctor and save lives, that is fulfilling. Or if you are an artist, writer or performer who changes hearts, that is fulfilling. Or if you're a teacher who nurtures minds and souls, or the head of a charitable organization that helps folks around the world, all of these jobs are fulfilling.

But most jobs? They may be necessary and even important — American productivity is good for the economy and therefore everyone — but fulfilling? If my clients no longer paid me for the corporate work I do, I'm fairly confident I'd cease doing it.

That's why we need to send our kids to grandma's, not the workplace, this Thursday.

Instead of encouraging "fulfilling careers" in this rat race, grandma would take them for a long walk in the sweet spring air, read them a book, and tell them stories about the colorful and cherished family members who have passed on to a better world.

Grandma, after all, is the only person on earth who knows the difference between what is and isn't really important in this fleeting life, and she knows that nobody ever left this world wishing they'd spent more time at the office.

And instead of demanding that employers change — or that our government create new laws to force them to — why don't we demand less. There is no nirvana in this life — things only get so good — and more laws and regulations can never change that truth.

If we're going to demand anything, why not that our government taxes families less so they can get by on less — so that both mom and dad have more time and flexibility to take the kids for a walk in the sweet spring air, read them books and nurture their souls?

I don't know about you, but I'd rather spend my days doing that than working in a "fulfilling" corporate career.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles