Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 18, 2005 /9 Nisan, 5765

Female Midlife Crisis

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's been stolen — the last bastion of male stupidity has been stolen — and women need to give it back.

In a recent Wall Street Journal article, Sue Shellenbarger, author of "The Breaking Point: How Female Midlife Crisis Is Transforming Today's Women," identifies the latest female trend: Women are now having midlife crises, too.

I suppose it was just a matter of time before women embraced this last traditional male pastime. Women have excelled in all the other traditional male activities.

Women now hold more than half of all professional jobs and nearly 46% of the executive and managerial ones, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Women are better-educated, too. They have 58% of all college degrees and 59% of all master's degrees, according to the National Center for Education Statistics

These changes are good, to be sure. But women have also progressed in areas that are not so good. Not content to be equal to men, many women have decided to emulate us.

In the old days, it was men who partook in boorish or loutish behavior. We were the ones to get frisky with female underlings or to pressure our girlfriends into physical activities.

It was men who lost our tempers and composure. We based our identities and self-worth on our ability to drink hard and fight.

And it was men who told the occasional off-color joke or ducked into a seedy exotic dancer club, where we indulged in booze and lust and other lowly male recreation.

But times sure have changed.

It is now young girls who pressure boys to get physical.

Women, if Jennifer Garner is any reflection, now aspire to be as tough and violent as men used to be (and there are few things a man fears more than a woman with a hair-trigger kneecap).

If you've not visited an exotic-dancer club recently, you'll be shocked at what you find. No longer the dark places where men linger in the shadows, many have become pubs. Pubs that are frequented by men AND women, who converse as though a totally nude woman is not dancing a few feet away.

Now that the transformation is almost complete — now that women have embraced the worst of male behavior — it makes perfect sense that women would embrace the midlife crisis, too.

But enough is enough.

Look, ladies, the midlife crisis has been the last refuge of the American male. We're the idiots who have felt the need to run off and do stupid things — things that involve a convertible, wasteful spending and, with any luck, a cocktail waitress.

We make fools of ourselves before our friends, family and community. We embarrass our children. And when we prodigal middle-aged idiots come to our senses, we return to our wives and our families full of remorse. We seek forgiveness and it is eventually granted.

But how can we possibly conquer our adolescent tendencies if women are acting just as bad as we are?

Sure, according to Shellenbarger, our midlife crisis is set off by our perceived failure in our careers or a sense that our dreams will never come true, whereas a woman's midlife crisis is set off by the death of a parent or loved one, or some other emotional conflict.

And, sure, it is ultimately good for both sexes to escape the daily struggle for a time to look deep inside and hopefully determine what really matters in this fleeting existence.

But do you ladies have to do it like we do? Do you really think you're helping matters by running off with that Spanish-speaking tennis pro twit Gilad down at the club?

In order for us to be better men, we need you to better women — distinctly and uniquely different than we are — and that means we need you to do what you used to be good at: helping us feel shame for where we've gone wrong morally, not join us.

A good place to start would be to keep your hands off our midlife crisis.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles