Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 12, 2005 / 3 Nisan II, 5765

Other uses for Preparation H?; What's the origin to holding up lighters at concerts?; the difficulty to acquire state of Delaware quarter

By Jeff Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: I have heard from several sources that Preparation H can be used to hide the bags under one's eyes. One lady on a national talk show proudly said she used it every day. Is that safe? If it's safe, I'm going out to buy a case of the stuff for the hereditary bags under my eyes. — Susan Walker

A: OK, here's where I finally win my community-service Pulitzer Prize.

IT IS TIME TO STOP PUTTING HEMORRHOID CREAM ON YOUR FACES!

This has been going on for years.

Preparation H — while a respected and established product for its intended purpose — is not meant to be smeared under your eyes. (Or on cellulite on your legs, as some folks do.)

Preparation H is not pleasant stuff. It's like putty. Or Clearasil — the old-timey kind — after you left the cap off. For a week.

But it's supposed to shrink tissue. And some of us have bags under our eyes. So people have grasped at this rather desperate connection in an effort to be beautiful.

Blame vanity.

Fran Sullivan, public affairs director at Wyeth, the enormo New Jersey drug-maker behind Preparation H, told me this:

"There is no scientific data that shows `Prep H' shrinks bags under your eyes. This question does come up several times a year. It seems to have started (as best as I can determine) about 10 to 15 years ago, and we're not sure what caused the rumor to start. ... Perhaps it is just one of those urban legends that lives on from generation to generation."

Sullivan didn't come right out and say it's unsafe to misuse the product this way. And lots of people have done so. But do you really want to be the person in the emergency room explaining how you got Preparation H in your eyes?

So how SHOULD we reduce the bags under our eyes, you cry. First, recognize that if heredity is to blame, you can only minimize the problem, experts say.

After that, practice healthy habits and common sense. Get enough sleep, drink lots of water, and try a reputable product like Beauty Without Cruelty Green Tea Nourishing Eye Gel or Origins No Puffery. And don't turn around and put THAT someplace it doesn't belong.

Now gimme my Pulitzer.


Q: What's the significance of holding up lighters at concerts? I was reminiscing the other day about all the rock concerts I went to in the `70s. During certain songs, almost everyone in the audience held up a lighter. Why? — Beth King, Jacksonville, Fla.

A: Beth, it's entirely possible you and I crossed paths during that mellow period. Maybe it was at a concert featuring the Doobie Brothers or the Eagles or ... (I'm not really sure I should admit this, but) Styx.

A guy reading this on his deck in Florida is going, "Hey, I saw the Doobies!" And a Kentucky mom with two kids in high school is shouting from her kitchen table, "I went to three Eagles concerts in the `70s!" And a whole lotta hip young people having brunch on a patio in California are sputtering, "He paid MONEY to go to see STYX!?!"

Well, none of these acts — not even Styx — was responsible for showing rock's "lighter" side. (Get it?) And you kids can't get too cocky. It wasn't one of your newfangled acts of today like Sixty Cents, either.

It was Melanie, the huggable singer-songwriter from the `60s and `70s.

She gave us the upheld lighter. Because of her, a disjointed concert crowd can be turned into one giant Bic clique. Every encore a butane refrain.

How it happened is a great story, which she told me recently on the phone.

In 1969, Melanie Safka was a kid from Astoria, N.Y., who had been playing coffeehouses. But she had a hit with "Look What They Done To My Song Ma." And somehow, she managed to get invited to play Woodstock.

Sort of.

She was not exactly a top act.

She didn't even have a backstage pass. She had to hang out — WAY off in the mud — in a little tent. Now and then somebody would come by and yell "Melanie, you're on next!" And she'd get all fidgety. Then, they'd come back and say "Never mind. Someone else is next." This went on all day.

She developed a nervous cough. As she wondered if she'd ever go on, the sun went down. It began to rain.

THEN they sent her on.

To get to the stage, she had to walk across a plank. Like in a pirate movie. "I felt like I was going into a dark abyss," she told me.

She inched her way across the plank and found herself alone onstage in front of a half-million people. She was 22 years old.

"I was TERRIFIED," she said. Her fear was so palpable, she did the only thing she could do. She sat on a stool, and played.

And the most amazing thing happened.

The dark hillside in front of her began to slowly, elegantly light up. Tens of thousands of tiny flames began to appear.

"The announcer had said something — probably something dumb, maybe something inspirational — about how everyone should light a candle to keep away the rain," she said. "And they passed out candles. To me, it looked like the entire universe was lighting up."

The next day she wrote about the experience, composing her signature song, "Lay Down (Candles in the Rain)." It sold a million records and the candle ritual became a routine at her shows.

Except fire marshals didn't find this groovy. Sometimes she even had to sign a contract that she wouldn't sing the song. (So she'd sing "Brand New Key" instead.)

But the Woodstock moment had been established. It was "flame on!" as a concert standard. All that was needed to cement this scene into rock ritual was a few decades of guys with mullets holding up lighters and bellowing "FREEBIRD!"


Q: I am not a coin collector, but I have been keeping some of the state quarters around just to see if I could get them all by finding them in normal circulation. I have been able to get most, but the most difficult to spot for me is the Delaware coin made by the Denver mint. I have never seen one. Is there a possibility that fewer of those were made than others? — Richard Klein, Charlotte, N.C.

A: Funny you should bring up the Delaware quarter, Richard.

  • It was the first. (They're released in order of statehood.)
  • Delaware Congressman Michael Castle proposed the program.
  • And the coin — which features Continental Congress delegate Caesar Rodney riding furiously to cast the deciding vote for independence — happens to have been designed by an art teacher. At CAESAR RODNEY High School in Camden-Wyoming, Del.

None of which answers your question. I just thought it was cool.

The mintage WAS relatively low for the Delaware quarter, says Michael White of the U.S. Mint's office of public affairs. How many quarters are made is determined by the economy at the time they're cranking them out.

The largest mintage was of the Virginia quarter in 2000 — about 1.6 billion of those were made. The smallest mintage was of Maine. Only 449 million or so of those were made.

But that's STILL not why you wouldn't have seen a Denver-minted quarter in North Carolina. (I swear I'm not stalling in answering this, and will do so in today's paper. Probably.)

THE REASON you don't see Denver-minted Delaware quarters is, the Denver mint issues coins west of the Mississippi and the Philly shop cranks them out for the east. (There's a "D" or a "P" on the heads side of a coin to tip you off.) So the Denver coins have to get carried a ways to get to you.

Like those state quarters, do ya? A lotta people do. 140 million Americans are collecting them, making this 10-year program the Mint's most popular ever.

Here's what's coming up, and about when:

  • Minnesota — coming out now.

  • Oregon — mid-June.

  • Kansas — mid-August.

  • West Virginia — mid-October.

Wait'll ya see the Kansas coin! It features a cool buffalo.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Jeff Elder is a columnist for The Charlotte Observer. Comment or try to stump him by clicking here. If you send him a great question, he'll send you a Glad You Asked T-shirt.

Archives

© 2005, The Charlotte Observer Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles