Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 1, 2005 / 21 Adar II, 5765

Decisions at the beginning clearer than decisions at the end

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On my desk sits a miniature replica of an Underwood typewriter like the relics journalism students labored over in reporting classes ages ago, or in the 1970s to be exact. This pipsqueak of a typewriter holds a small picture frame in which I tucked a quote that says, "Life is messy" Ann Coulter.

My mother, always current on the latest political news, would find it entertaining that I found comfort after her death from the writing of Ann Coulter, a personality not exactly known for expressing her sentiments in a warm, fuzzball sort of way.

My mother spent her final 16 days in an intensive care unit after suffering a brain aneurysm. There were times when I was not sure if intensive care was a place of medical miracles, or a foretaste of Hell.

Life is messy and, sometimes, the end of life can be the messiest part of all. My dad kept a small spiral notebook in his shirt pocket, where he wrote down the names of the doctors that came and went and what they did. I lost count after ten. It was a rare moment when doctor number seven knew what doctor number three was doing.

Code blue. Ventilator, temporary. Coil the aneurysm. Drill two holes in the skull for drainage. Move IV from arm to the chest. Swallow reflex. Feeding tube. Uncomfortable to insert. Worse if they rip them out. Hand restraints. CAT scan. X-ray. Lung culture. Lumbar puncture. Infection possibility. Antibiotics?

There is one thing I learned from the constant barrage of questions and decisions, and it is this: How to say, "I don't know." Even doctors don't know. They can make an educated guess, but they don't always know. The only ones who seem to know everything are the ones surrounding Terri Schiavo. Both sides speak with clarity and certainty. "By the way, viewers, may we remind you that Terri had weight and image problems. Here's a picture of her now with sunken eyes, hollow cheeks and gaping mouth. More at the bottom of the hour as we discuss the euphoria that comes with dehydration."

Here's what I'd like to see: A pundit so clearly connected with the agony of it all that, unable to talk, he simply puts his head down and sobs. A young woman is brain damaged, a family is splintered and at war, a man calls himself her husband yet fathers children with another woman, and stricken parents who love their daughter and wish to care for her, are forced by arms of their own government to watch her slowly starve.

Would there be a more appropriate response than weeping?

I'd like to hear from those who haven't been standing behind the microphones — nurses and hospice workers who have nurtured the last moments of life and tenderly brought dignity to death. From loved ones who have cared for those with terminal cancer and Alzheimer's. They don't have to theorize about suffering, they have lived suffering. It would benefit us greatly to hear from the parents of dearly loved children with severe disabilities. Like a train wreck you can't turn away from, those parents have watched Terri Schiavo with a lump in their throat and a pounding in their chest.

When you don't know with certainty, you move slowly very, very slowly — because the decisions at the end of life are never as clear as the decisions at the beginning of life.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2005, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles