Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 21, 2004 / 30 Nissan, 5764

THEY HATE ME! THEY REALLY HATE ME!

By Michael Graham


Our columnist has PO-ed CAIR. Why not send him a note?


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | "Choose your friends carefully. Your enemies will choose you." — Yassir Arafat.


The headline on the email read "Get Someone Else To Start Your Car." If it hadn't been from a co-worker, I would have deleted it as some bizarre, auto-repair spam.


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Instead, I read the attached message, a press release from the Council on American Islamic Relations (CAIR) in Washington, DC. Right away, a few words jumped out at me:


"Anti-Muslim." "Spewing hate." "Bigotry." Oh, and one more: "Michael Graham."


CAIR has just launched a national media campaign, the clumsily named "Hate Hurts America," to combat what they consider "hate radio by conservative talk show hosts." Their press release urges national action and unceasing diligence by Muslims against the "bigotry" of radio, but in the entire three-page document, CAIR only mentions one talk-show host by name.


Lucky me.


Actually, I do consider myself lucky, because I believe that our true character is revealed by the quality of our enemies, and I couldn't be prouder to count the terrorist-coddling CAIR as a foe. I am also lucky because CAIR is so bad at what they do.


What CAIR does is try to portray all criticism of all Muslims everywhere as bigotry. They singled me out because I said on the air (and have said in print as well) that Islam is a uniquely dangerous religion, that the religion itself needs a reformation much like those experienced by Catholicism and Mormonism, and that the one distinguishing attribute of "moderate" Muslims is their reluctance to publicly criticize the actions of the Islamo-fascist extremists who continue to spread terror.


Now, you might agree with me or you might disagree with me, but this is hardly bigotry. "Stating the obvious" is a more apt description. But any criticism from an infidel like yours truly is unbearable to the folks at CAIR, and so they've launched their attack:

Donate to JWR


"Graham recently made an implicit call for violence against Muslims," CAIR said in their press release. "He said: 'I don't wanna say we should kill 'em all [Muslims], but unless there's reform [within Islam], there aren't a lot of other solutions that work in the ground struggle for survival.'"


Now, you don't have to be a literary critic to see that the folks at CAIR have added a significant word to that quote on their own ("[Muslims]") and that they've added it to a rather significant sentence, "kill 'em all." The reason they had to add the word "Muslim" to begin with is, of course, because I didn't say it.


What I said was that I wanted some solution to the struggle between civilization and the Islamists (the violent, Muslim extremists) other than their obliteration. Unfortunately, at that point in my conversation, I couldn't think of one.


What's worse is that I still can't.


Islam has a problem, a problem with the Islamo-fascists who I'm told by folks like CAIR don't represent "real" Muslims. I point out this problem, and my frustration with the fact that so-called "moderate Muslims" appear to be doing so little to solve it, and I'm a hate-spewing bigot. Meanwhile, mosques in "moderate" countries like Egypt and Pakistan continue to support suicide bombers or, like Iran and Saudi Arabia, give money to terror groups like Hamas and the Al Aqsa Martyr Brigades.


Apparently being a "moderate" Muslim means you only want to kill the Jews.


Then again, what to expect from an organization like CAIR whose executive director, Nihad Awad, has openly expressed support for Hamas and Hizbullah? Or from a group that takes money from the whacko Wahabbis of Saudi Arabia, with their extreme view of Islam and the limited rights of women, homosexuals and non-Muslims?


In fact, the same week CAIR was trying to get me thrown off the air, one of their former employees, Randall Todd "Ismail" Royer, was being thrown in jail. "Ismail" got 20 years in prison for his illegal, terror-related activities in the Virginia Jihad Network, a network he's admitted forming here in the US after September 11th.


What's so frustrating to me is that, if CAIR were truly a moderate organization dedicated to reform, we would be fast friends, not enemies. I think I'm like the vast majority of Americans who know relatively little about Islam, aren't particularly interested in learning much more, but would like to see normal, decent Muslims lead the charge to take back their faith from the Osamas and al-Sadrs and Yassins and Wahabbists of the world. Instead you've got the spokesman for CAIR explaining on my radio show why they support the good Hamas, not the bad one.


If the "Muslim" Martin Luther King appeared today, American Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Scientologists, atheists, Rotarians and even some Democrats would rise to cheer him and offer arms and treasure for his cause. We want the world to be safe. We don't want to live in constant fear that our neighbor's faith is going to make him dangerous to all who don't share it. In other words, we want the Muslim religion to be a little less, well, religious.


Does anyone know the Islamic term for "Unitarian?"


Darn. There goes that "hate speech" again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." To comment, please click here.

© 2004, Michael Graham