Education

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

9 inexpensive, do-it-yourself projects that will make your life easier

By Matt Evans


Credit: ShutterStock



People always want to make life just a little bit easier, and if it happens to be something you can do yourself and is adorable, then all the better. Here are nine DIY projects that you can do and the appropriate links that will help you


JewishWorldReview.com | People always want to make life just a little bit easier, and if it happens to be something you can do yourself and is adorable, well then all the better.

Today I list nine do-it-yourself projects you can do and the appropriate links that will help you to alleviate clutter or stress in your future productive lives.

Shutter mail organizer

The first is the Window Shutter Mail Organizer by Instructables. This is something I could use in my house, since as it stands, all my mail ends up on our counter and sits there in a pile until somebody goes through it. The other thing I like about it is that cost is low or maybe even free. I am sure with a search of the KSL classifieds under the free section or other internet-savvy searches, you can find a spare window shutter. I like most people keep every can of paint I ever purchased, so as soon as you can find a can that hasnt hardened in to a rubbery cylinder, off you go!

Cargo blocks

Enlarge image
Easy configurable cargo blocks for your car trunk (Photo: Imjasonc)

I have always fretted over how to strategically place groceries or other food-related items in my trunk so they would not slide all over the place. I would come up with creative uses for the spare blanket, jumper cables and whatever else was available, short of putting a kid back there to hold on to stuff. I have seen trunk organizers on various websites but this idea never dawned on me. The Easy Configurable Cargo Blocks for Your Car Trunk is a great way to control food traffic in the trunk while driving. I plan on making several so next time I'm on my way to my parents, they can eat a whole casserole and not half of one.

Color-coded keys

As I generally stare at my keys for several minutes trying to figure out which one is my house key, I have always thought about purchasing a color-coded key to identify the keys I use most. Now with this painfully obvious idea, I don't have to go through the hassle. With a little bit of nail polish, I can stop sifting through a key ring that looks like that of a warden's and start identifying the ones I need. I'm fairly certain I no longer need half of the keys I have on the ring, but the one I throw away will go to a secret treasure chest or safety deposit box that I have forgotten about. Now who looks silly? If I can just convince my wife to allow me access to her stash of polish, I can get to work on the Five-Minute DIY Color Code Your Keys project.

Etched measurements


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Every once in a while my wife lets me cook. Usually this involves me making pancakes or French toast. Sometimes, however, I will have just watched Pixar's “Ratatouille” and feel I was meant to be a French chef. In this instant, I will try something daring like homemade soup. When filling up large pots or kettles, it can be a hassle to fill up a small measuring glass over and over to make sure the measurements are right. The website imgur.com has an ingenious way to get the markings to be permanent and looking good. I would advise in following all the directions in How to Add Permanent Markings to a Kettle and practice your technique prior to marking up your pots, pans and other metal.

Enlarge image
How to add permanent markings to a kettle (Photo: Alan Schaaf)

Under the cabinet drawers

My wife frequently complains about a lack of storage in the kitchen. This is mainly due to her not being able to reach much higher than the first set of shelves in the cabinets. That means the successive shelves in the cabinets are a sparsely populated wasteland of ugly cups, dishes from relatives and the designated “my area” to retrieve things. I think this idea is brilliant for storing flat items and the random things that accumulate. If only a step stool could spring out of these, then my wife could reach the top of the shelves where we keep the serving plates, vases and all of my candy. The How to Build Under the Cabinet Drawers project has detailed instructions at the familyhandyman.com website.

Canned food cabinet

More space and less clutter means everyone in the house is a little happier. This is why I love the space saving ideas that are out there. I for one am not a fan of looking in my pantry and finding that I have three bottles of the same dressing and four cans of enchilada sauce. With this nifty DIY project, your cans, spices and other hard to organize items can be right there is a space that many people take for granted or allow to collect dust and old drawings from your kids. The DIY canned food cabinet tutorial is perfect for those older houses that just don't have space to store things, especially in the kitchen.

Lazy Susan in the pantry

I may be harping on the space-saving and organization, but I tell you, life gets easier when you can find the peanut butter and those little cookies that your kids love. This DIY project is or as the title states, "The Great Pantry Makeover", shows that utilizing an under-utilized device (the Lazy Susan) in a new way can make access to the great recesses of your pantry much easier.

Multitool

Enlarge image
Get your baby to help with the housework (Photo: Betterthanpants.com)

The Multi Key + Bike Tools + USB Drive + Bottle Opener + Screwdriver is the ultimate in making life easier, especially if your key ring is getting out of control. I especially like the option to add a few tools, because you never know when you may be thrust into a “MacGyver moment” and need a screwdriver.

Baby broom

Get Your Baby to Help with the Housework title says it all, really. You have probably wondered how you could harness the unlimited energy that comes from your kids. I know I have. Dress them up in a cleaning onesie, and your kids can finally clean up the messes instead of making them.

Now you have seen a few of the ideas I have been able to find, but I am most assured that there are readers out there with some other great DIY projects that can make life easier. Post them in the comments, so we can all bask in your genius.

This article is for entertainment purposes only. Any projects that are started should be done with safety in mind along with reading the complete instructions provided by the link provider.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.









© 2014, KSL

Quantcast