Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 21, 2013/ 10 Nissan, 5773

An 'F' is a very 'Nobel' grade

By Greg Schwem



JewishWorldReview.com | My daughter burst through the front door, dropped her backpack, grabbed a handful of potato chips and flopped on the couch.

A typical after-school entrance.

I tepidly approached. "Any homework tonight?"

"Mmmmm."

A typical after-school response.

"Are you still carrying an 'A' in physics?"

"Unfortunately, yes."

"Unfortunately?"

"Don't get used to it Dad. By Christmas break, I'll be failing physics."

"What do you mean, you'll be failing it? It's your favorite subject."

"If I don't fail it, I'll never win the Nobel Prize."

"Come again?"

"John Gurdon, Dad," she said before increasing the TV volume. "Google him."

When your teenage daughter orders you to Google something, it's best to do it. How else to understand the adolescent mind's inner workings? I once came home to find her suspended face down between two kitchen chairs on the driveway while her girlfriend snapped photos.

"Planking, Dad. Google it," she said, knowing full well that I was not yet privy to the (thankfully) brief craze that involved lying down in public places with arms extended and documenting it via social networks.

So, I retreated to my office, searched "John Gurdon" and discovered that SIR John Gurdon was recently awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. By the way, the "or" is really in the title, which I find strange. Shouldn't it be Physiology AND Medicine? Why not separate prizes for each? In baseball you don't win a Gold Glove for fielding OR hitting.

Had there been an "I told you so" category, the 79-year-old Gurdon would have two Nobel prizes for, as numerous articles stated, Gurdon was told he would never become a scientist. The world knows this only because Gurdon started blabbing about it during his press conference, informing anybody who cared to listen that his science teacher at Eton Academy flunked him, ranked him last in the class and told him he couldn't learn simple biological facts.

Fast forward 64 years and there was Gurdon, humbly accepting his profession's highest honor for his pioneering work in stem cell research.

"This stinks," I thought. Just when the world had grown tired of the Bill Gates "I dropped out of Harvard to start a software company and look at me today!" story, along comes Sir John and now I have to defend the value of a good education all over again.

"Are you planning to apply this failing grades approach to all your subjects?" I asked my daughter.

"No, just the ones I'm interested in," she said. "I really like Spanish."

"Where's your Spanish book?"

"Just sold it on eBay."

"Young lady, do you seriously believe that failure in school leads to success outside of school? The way I'm interpreting Mr. Gurdon's story. . ."

"Sir John."

"Whatever. Sir John is saying you should never let anybody stand in the way of your dreams. If somebody says you won't succeed, use that as motivation to work harder."

"That's not how I'm interpreting it."

"No kidding."

"Look, Dad, college is going to cost about $100,000. Are you aware of that?"

"Only every moment that I'm awake."

"Right. So how does this sound? I drop out of school now and you use my college savings to send me to Cambridge."

"Cambridge? As in Cambridge University? In England? I'm fairly certain that school requires a high school diploma."

"That's where Sir John Gurdon does his research," she said excitedly. "I'll knock on his door and tell him I want to be just like him! Maybe I can get an internship or something."

"Sure. And on the second day maybe you'll get engaged to Prince Harry."

"Don't be ridiculous, Dad."

"Funny, I was about to say the same thing to you."

"Face it, Dad, a college degree isn't all it's cracked up to be anymore. Did you know Walt Disney never went to college? Neither did John D. Rockefeller. Or Simon Cowell."

"Really? I could have sworn Cowell owns a masters in self-importance," I said. "You know who did go to college? Sergey Brin and Larry Page."

"Who are they?"

"Google them."

"I waited while she tapped the names on her iPhone. "Oh, they founded Google. Very funny, Dad."

"I wasn't trying to be funny. Only logical."

"Just let me coast through high school. I won't fail, OK? C's and D's ought to be lousy enough to achieve some worldwide notoriety."

"No deal. You are going to study hard, make good grades and go to college. Get a degree in physics if that's what you love. Then go after that Nobel Prize."

"OK, but just remember that I tried to save you a hundred grand. You and mom could have spent that on something else."

"Like what?"

"Maybe some stem cells?"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment by clicking here.

Greg Schwem is a corporate stand-up comedian and author of "Text Me If You're Breathing: Observations, Frustrations and Life Lessons From a Low-Tech Dad".


Previously:



The TV remote is Harvard's answer to birth control

© 2013, Greg Schwem Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast