Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 12, 2013/ 1 Nissan, 5773

The Many Woes of Telecommuting

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, Best Buy joined Yahoo to ban employees from telecommuting - a subject on which I am becoming an expert.

As a self-employed writer, I telecommute every day. Thanks to the Internet and my cell phone, I can work for clients from anywhere - my home office, a coffee shop, a campsite in the woods.

And it's starting to get to me.

Initially, I thought I'd achieved a dream. I wear blue jeans every day. I set my own schedule. No longer do I waste time in rush-hour traffic or sit in office meetings as colleagues lick the boss's boots.

But it can sure be isolating at times.

A year ago, I moved back to a house I own in the country. Sometimes, I spend long mornings and afternoons alone there - just me and my computer. I find myself craving basic human interaction.

Last week, for instance, a telemarketer called. In the past, I rushed such people off the phone, but no longer.

Telemarketer: "Would you like to buy the Acme security service?"

Me: "No, but how's the weather where you are? I hear spring is coming late this year."

Working from home has also caused me grief from my neighbors. I overheard them talking about me one day.

Neighbor 1: "Do you think he's in the witness protection program?"

Neighbor 2: "I don't know, but he should get a pet."

They think a dog would give me needed company during the day, but I don't want the responsibility, as I am often not home.

I did try to hire a 24-year-old Swedish nanny, but, regrettably, the nanny agency assured me I had to have a family to hire one.

A month ago, some religious fanatics knocked on my door to give me pamphlets and magazines.

Religious fanatic: "You are doomed to hell if you do not read our pamphlets. Will you support us with a donation?"

Me: "No, but I hear it's going to rain tomorrow. Would you like some coffee? Do you think I should put rose bushes in the planter?"

There are other problems caused by working alone out of one's home. On the rare occasions when local clients visit my home office, I'm embarrassed to give them directions.

Me: "Make a sharp left at Homer's bug zapper."

Client: "OK?"

Me: "Then turn right at Orville's compost pile."

So, I'm not so enamored with the home-office concept anymore.

Humans don't like to be alone. We are social animals - so social, in fact, that I'm beginning to think Best Buy and Yahoo are onto something: that it is better to spend long days confined to corporate cubicles than it is to work in total freedom, isolated at home.

But both companies are bucking a trend that is surely here to stay.

According to a recent Census Bureau report, more workers are telecommuting than ever before - some 13.4 million in 2010, compared to 9.2 million in 1997.

With fewer employees taking up costly office space, more companies are boosting productivity and reducing costs - and they don't want to give up such gains.

And like every issue these days, telecommuting has become a political issue. The less you drive your car to the office, the fewer carbon emissions you put into the air.

Thus, the telecommuting trend will likely continue.

So, if you still dream about working from home, be careful what you wish for. Before long, you'll be craving conversations with telemarketers, religious fanatics and anyone else who will listen.

Which reminds me: The postal carrier will be at my house soon. I need to get the coffee started.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2013, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast