Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 13, 2013/ 2 Nissan, 5773

Lives purpo$ely being crippled

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "The foundation of every state is the education of its youth," said Diogenes Laertius, a third century biographer of the ancient Greek philosophers. The foundation of our nation is in alarming disrepair.

Nearly 80 percent of high school graduates in New York City can't read, write, or figure well enough to meet the standards for entering community college, the CBS affiliate there reported March 7.

We're not talking about Columbia or NYU. We're talking about the lowest rung on the higher education ladder. Yet in what CBS 2 described as a "bombshell" report, 79.3 percent of high school graduates who enter City University's community college system require remedial instruction in reading, writing, and arithmetic.

It's hard to imagine more stark evidence of failure. But the reality is worse, because more than a third of those who enter high school in New York City do not graduate in four years. If those who received diplomas are so poorly prepared, imagine how lacking in basic skills the dropouts must be.

New York spends more per pupil than does any other state. Teachers in New York City are paid more than are teachers in any other city, save Chicago.

By most measures, public schools in many other cities are worse.

There is little correlation between per pupil spending and student performance. In almost every state, per pupil spending is higher in urban districts -- where student performance ranges from poor to abysmal -- than in all but a handful of the wealthiest suburban districts.

There's a difference between requiring remedial work to meet the (modest) standards of community colleges, and being "functionally illiterate" (A person whose skills in reading and writing are insufficient for ordinary practical needs.)

The National Adult Literacy Survey, conducted in 1993, found that 42 million American adults couldn't read; 50 million more could read only at a 4th or 5th grade level. The number of functionally illiterate adults was increasing by more than 43,000 a week.

When the survey was updated ten years later, the U.S. Department of Education found that 47 million Americans were functionally illiterate. Their ranks were growing at the rate of 44,000 a week. Functional innumeracy -- having difficulty performing simple math skills -- appears to be even more widespread.

This can't be blamed on a paucity of resources. More of our tax dollars are spent on K-12 education than on anything else, save Medicare, Social Security, and defense. We spend roughly twice as much on schools -- in dollars adjusted for inflation -- as we did in 1970.

We spend so much because we think nothing is more important for the future of our children and for the future of our country than a good education. For millenia, nothing has been more effective in lifting people out of poverty. Little has been more important in fostering economic growth.

We're not getting what we've been paying for. In absolute terms, the typical high school graduate knows less history, civics, and math today than high school graduates did in 1970. In relative terms, we're falling further behind our international economic competitors. Ours is now the only major economy in the world where today's students will not be better educated than their parents were, said Andreas Schleicher, special adviser on education at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

What's important isn't the money wasted. It's the lives being crippled.

Only one in five young adults in the U.S. reaches a higher level of education than their parents, OECD statistics indicate. The ignorance of young people today is so prevalent and so pronounced that mocking it has become a staple of late night comedians. But there is nothing funny about ignorance so massive it threatens the health of our economy and the viability of our democratic institutions.

Our schools cost so much, and our children learn so little because the system is designed to benefit the providers of education, not the children who need one, or the country. We can't fix this by tinkering around the edges, and there's no more time for gradual reform. We face a national emergency so grave and so urgent only a Gordian Knot solution will do. (According to legend, all who tried to unravel the intricate knot failed...until Alexander the Great cut it with his sword.)

If our children, and our country, are to have a future, the entire politicized system must go. Now.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2013, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast