Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 15, 2013 / 4 Nissan, 5773

Jewz in the Newz

By Nate Bloom






Bonnie Franklin, Valerie Harper; LA mayor's race; Albert Brooks on going to shul

JewishWorldReview.com | VANITY FAIR GOES JEWISH The January and March issues of Vanity Fair magazine have an astonishing amount of first-class Jewish related celebrity news and the good news is that most of that material can be read on-line. (http://www.vanityfair.com/magazine; click on issue cover). The January "comedy" issue, edited by JUDD APATOW, 45, has interviews with the mostly-Jewish cast of "Freaks and Geeks"; a joint interview with ELAINE MAY and MIKE NICHOLS, both 80; and a very revealing interview with ALBERT BROOKS, 65, in which he gives his really moving reason why he insisted that his two children, now ages 14 and 10, go to temple with him. **


The March issue includes a profile of MARV ADELSON, 83, who went from being a show-biz frontman for the Mafia; to a top TV producer married to BARBRA WALTERS and worth $300 million; to his present state-divorced, broke, and living alone in a tiny apartment. It also includes an interview with a happy and lively STANLEY DONEN, 88, who directed such classics as "Singin' in the Rain," "On the Town," and "Charade." Donen has been living with Elaine May for the last 12 years. Donen wants to do "the right thing": he says he has asked May to marry him "about 172 times." She gave him a medallion that he wears around his neck. It says: "Stanley Donen. If found, please return to Elaine May."

SHORT TERM TROIKA? On March 5, Los Angeles city councilman ERIC GARCETTI, 42, came in first in the open primary to become the city's next mayor. His father, Gil Garcetti, 71, the former L.A. District Attorney, was born in Mexico to Italian and Mexican Catholic parents. His mother, SUKEY ROTH, is an American Jew. Eric was raised Jewish and is a synagogue member.

Garcetti will now face City Controller Wendy Gruel, whose husband is Jewish, in a May run-off. If he wins, he will take office in July. If he wins, until the end of the year, the mayors of America's three largest cities will be Jewish: there's RAHM EMANUEL, 52, who took office as Chicago's first Jewish mayor in May, 2011; and MICHAEL BLOOMBERG, 71, who completes his third term as New York's mayor at the end of this year and cannot, by law, run again.

SAD NEWS
FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


BONNIE FRANKLIN, best known as the star of the hit sit-com, "One Day at a Time," died on Mar. 1, age 69, of pancreatic cancer. She met her husband, MARVIN MINKOFF, when he produced an excellent 1980 TV movie about the life of birth control pioneer Margaret Sanger that Franklin starred-in. The couple wed in 1980 and remained married until Minkoff's death in 2009. She was a loving stepmother to Minkoff's two children. From 1999-2001, she hosted a cable TV show in which she interviewed other Jewish celebrities.

Valerie Harper, 73, who isn't Jewish, but played the famous Jewish character "Rhoda Morgenstern" on the "Mary Tyler Moore Show" and on the spin-off, "Rhoda," has been diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor. In 2007, she starred as GOLDA MEIR in the film adaptation of the hit Broadway play, "Golda's Balcony." DAVID GROH, the Jewish actor who played Joe, Rhoda's non-Jewish husband, died in 2008, age 68, from cancer.

** HERE'S THE PART OF THE VANITY FAIR INTERVIEW WHERE BROOKS DISCUSSES RELIGION WITH FILM DIRECTOR AND PRODUCER JUDD APATOW, WHO IS A SECULAR JEW. It is the most cogent and compelling explanation I've ever seen as to why--even when one's faith is "imperfect," you and your family should go to synagogue-and it comes from a "hip" entertainment figure.

Judd Apatow. Are you religious at all?

Albert Brooks. It's funny, I don't believe in the images of what G0D is, a thing or a person. I do wonder often the reason the sea horse is here, or a tree, or why I'm here, and so I don't know if I'm religious. But it's interesting when you're part of a group-the Jews, to be exact-that the world has had such problems with. It has really nothing to do with religion. That's why, if my kids didn't want to go to temple, I used to say, "Let me explain something to you: If Hitler came back, he's not going to ask if you went to temple. You're already on the train. So you might as well know who you are and why they're going to take you."

J.A. What do you get out of temple?

A.B. I went to a memorial service and brought my kids and we thought about my dad and my mom, and the rabbi gave kind of a cool sermon, and you're sitting in a room with everyone who would have to go on the same train. So there's a bit of community there.

J.A. That's dark.


INTERESTED IN YOUR FAMILY HISTORY?

Ten years of doing a Jewish celebrity column has turned Nate Bloom into something of an expert in finding basic family history records and articles mentioning a "searched-for" person. During these 10 years, he has put together a small team of "mavens" who aid his research. Most professional family history experts charge at least a $1000 for a full family history. However, many people just want to get started by tracing one particular family line.

So here's the deal: Send Nate an e-mail at middleoftheroad1@aol.com, and tell him you saw this ad on Jewish World Review and include your phone number (area code too). Nate will contact you about doing a limited family history for a modest cost (no more than $100). No upfront cost. Open to everybody; of any religious/ethnic background.


A.B. Well, but it's true. Here's what we know. We know meditation is healthy. Everybody says it slows your heart rate and everything, and the basis of religion seems to be that when you pray . . . I don't know what people who are religious think when they pray, but it's very close to what meditation is. It's sort of ritualistic, it's habit, it's like exercising, so you might be able to get something out of that. I'm sure some people enjoy thinking it's out of their hands. There's all these people who think it's "meant to be." But I don't buy that.

J.A. I'd love to buy it, though. I wish I could.

A.B. I don't buy it, but I love it.

J.A. It would make the day so much easier.

A.B. Look, only a few people get to die peacefully in their sleep after a wonderful life. So that's like not making the football team. There's lots of things you don't get to have. That's probably one of them. Thank G0D, I consider myself lucky that I live after anesthetic. Can you imagine those days? "Sit down. Tuesday we're taking off your arm."

Info Note: Persons in capital letters, above, are deemed Jewish for the purpose of this column. For the purpose of the column, the person has to have at least one Jewish parent, be raised Jewish or secular, and not identify with a religion other than Judaism as an adult. Converts to Judaism are also, of course, considered Jewish, even if they don't have a Jewish parent.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment on this column, please click here.


Previously:


The Land of Oz's Many Hebrews; Mila Kunis & a "Menschy" Company; Aly Raisman Dances & Jewish Figure Skaters at World Championship

New on the Big Screen, Tube

The Oscars: The Jewish Connection

Jews in the National Hockey League; Possible Start of a Blockbuster Film Series; Star Wars Keep on Comin', Special TV Showing of Schindler's List



© 2013, Nate Bloom