Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 18, 2013/ 7 Nissan, 5773

Mommies gone wild

By Diane Farr



JewishWorldReview.com | I once believed a college dorm might be the loudest place I would ever try to sleep. Then I had children.

And after having three, almost all at once, I didn't sleep in my own home for about five years. But now my two youngest are age 4 and I am entering "the platinum years of parenting" -- aka the post-breastfeeding/pre-teen ages of 5 to 10 years old, where, as a mom I get to redefine myself as a power sleeper. And perhaps even while on the occasional weekend away from home where the best sleep can happen, now that my babies are old enough to be trusted with a grandparent (and a constant rotation of baby sitters I pay double over a weekend).

So how thrilled was I to receive an invitation to stay in a rented McMansion for a 40th birthday celebration with eight other couples, sans their kids and mine, in a pretty city none of us live in. Ah, to dream of three long days of eating more than just what is left on the kitchen counter. And the chance to sleep past 6:45 a.m.

As soon as I arrive at this grown-up-getaway, I ask for a bedroom between two other couples whose little ones are around the same ages as mine. I also corral all of us in a corner of the house away from the single friends and those couples with older offspring, fearing those folks might be looking for House Music All Night Long.

But as it turns out, mothers of young children can party harder than Marines on furlough. Because they are on furlough. And for those of us who don't get mentally sufficient time away from our kids, our R & R can become more desperate and messy than said servicemen alone in a foreign country for the first time with a bottle of scotch in one hand and a wad of American dollars in the other.

Like when a woman weighing less than 200 pounds drinks schnapps from 9 a.m. until way past 9 p.m. Also note that this female hasn't eaten properly for at least two years, possibly for 25 years, and rarely gets out of her own home, much less drinks alcohol. It could lead to her crying at the dinner table while the group sings happy birthday to someone else, then fighting with a bouncer at a bar until he calls the cops, followed by robbing a centerpiece from a nightclub that has absolutely no monetary value and losing all subtlety in an attempt to steal a kiss from someone she is not married to . . . and then needing oxygen through a mask before being allowed to go to bed.

While I strapping that oxygen onto two educated, highly respected, fully functioning members of society who are wonderful moms when not out on Friday night -- or again on Saturday night when this happened all over AGAIN -- I realize this is not just these two ladies' personal midlife crisis. It is that of my entire generation.

While on the bathroom floor with Party Patty and Dancing Dana out cold, I accept the fact that I too needed a hit of O2. A literal breather. Because although I didn't get sick or attempt a nonmarital makeout, I did many things to myself that I spend all week telling my children are not good choices.

Too much cake, too much drink, too little sleep, not enough kindness toward others . . . or myself.

But whom do I call when I need to regulate? And how do I -- and the otherwise moderate women temporarily hijacked by alcohol on their one weekend free of children -- find more time for ourselves while taking care of the kids so as not to implode on our time off?

While flying home more exhausted than when I left, I conclude that the only person who can prevent a mommy-meltdown is Mom herself. Sure we can say our partner, parent, job and country won't allow us a break from our beloved and their unending homework/sports/playdates/need to do everything we didn't as a child -- but if we are old enough to have children, we should also know that every adult is in charge of his or her own happiness. Yes the adage says, an unhappy wife leads to an unhappy married life -- but an unhappy mom is like a family bomb.

So it is my job to get out there -- to yoga, the book club, a ladies lunch or even a happy hour, but to do it on a regular basis -- so that it doesn't end in medical assistance the next time I get off the parenting hamster wheel.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment by clicking here.

Diane Farr is known for her roles in "Californication," "Numb3rs" and "Rescue Me," and as the author of "Kissing Outside the Lines."

© 2013, Diane Farr Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast