Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 12, 2012 / 18 Adar, 5772

Nook Tablet Shows Promise in Crowded Market

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Apple's announcement of a new iPad on March 7 only continues questions about that device's place in the market. By the end of 2012, Apple is expected to rack up cumulative iPad sales of over 100 million units. An observer might conclude that the iPad is about all there is in tablet-land.

Such an observer would be wrong, however. Major booksellers are in the tablet space, figuring, perhaps rightly, that e-books will eventually trump paper books, and it's better for, say, Amazon.com or Barnes & Noble to sell a digital book on a hardware "platform" of their choosing, than to sell no books at all.

The printed book isn't going away, not yet at least, and the tablet age is in its infancy, I believe. But neither fact has stopped Barnes & Noble, one of the country's oldest booksellers - and, now, certainly one of the largest - from offering its own line of e-book "readers" and even an Android-based tablet, the $199 or $249 Nook Tablet, the price depending on whether you want 8 gigabytes or 16 gigabytes of memory installed.

I've played with a 16-gigabyte Nook Tablet model and I must say, it's nicer than I'd thought and certainly a device that shows promise in a crowded marketplace. While I was (and remain) a bit lukewarm about the $199, 8-gigabyte Amazon.com Kindle Fire tablet (see http://bit.ly/rvj5Uh), the Nook is nicer.

There are frustrations with the Nook: Barnes & Noble pre-installs a link to the Mog.com music service - the same one that didn't work on the Kindle Fire I tested last fall - and while I could, sort of, log in to Mog.com, it wouldn't respond with music. Other Android apps might not be available, and, at deadline, Barnes & Noble didn't respond to a question of whether such items can be "side loaded," or transferred to a Nook via a cable connection to a computer.

Then again, Pandora Radio worked just fine, and there are plenty of applications available to cover just about any interest. If the one I want isn't yet available, a substitute could likely be found.

So what makes the Nook Tablet a thing of value? Several features, I think. One is the screen, a super-sharp, colorful 7-inch display that's great for television shows, movies and magazine layouts. Watching some brief television clips on Hulu Plus was a hoot: wonderful video, and the sound was OK with the built-in speaker. (More serious viewing - not to mention the comfort of your neighbors - would suggest using a headset.)

Books - presumably the primary thing for Nook users -- are fun to read; the feel is natural, and the type easy to read and easy to re-size. I can attest that the Nook Tablet is durable, too: dropping one onto a carpeted floor wasn't a problem, as I discovered while dozing off during testing.

Battery life seems better than the Kindle Fire as well: Barnes & Noble promises 11.5 hours of reading time, and 9.5 hours of watching videos. And, unlike the Kindle Fire, both times are with Wi-Fi connectivity functioning. Like the Kindle Fire, there's no 3G wireless option.

I was a bit concerned that Barnes & Noble's e-books might not be easily transferrable to other platforms, if, say, a user ditched the Nook for an iPad or another Android tablet. Apps from B&N will handle that, a company spokesman said. They didn't say, but I have found out, you can fairly easily "hack" a Kindle Fire to run the Android Nook application.

So portability of books isn't a concern, as it is, frankly, with Apple's iBook platform. That's good. Barnes & Noble has a ton of titles, and the prices seem as fair as any e-seller's.

For my needs, wants and desires, I'd probably stick with an iPad. But for a smaller-sized, useful, reading-and-tablet experience, I'd also say that the Nook Tablet is, for now, the one to beat.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles