Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 30, 2012 / 7 Nissan, 5772

Accessories, after the fact

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's a funny thing about tech devices: whether it's a smartphone, a tablet, or even a desktop or notebook computer, leaving any of these truly "naked" isn't a wise strategy.

There are folks who do this: I saw one friend with a, well, "bare" iPad just the other morning, but is it truly wise? Things fall, get banged into, or need something more to make them work efficiently.

I believe all the above with so firm a conviction that, when I picked up my "new iPad," as Apple Inc. calls it, my very first move, after making sure it worked, was to have a protective plastic "skin" placed on the front and the back, something I failed to do with the (2011 vintage) iPad 2. Result: a visible scratch on the back cover. There's no hit on the performance, the front, display screen, side, is flawless, but one scratch and I can no longer say (nor would I) that it's in "like new" condition.

So, a word to the wise: get that tablet covered, fast. Area shopping malls will often have a kiosk offering ZAGG's Invisible Shield protection, applied on site, and costing around $60 (installed). For those who want to take a truly "hands off" approach, it's not a bad deal, in my experience.

Do-it-yourselfers can order Wrapsol's Ultra screen protector, and a "skin" for the back of an iPad, at prices ranging between $34.95 and $39.95. The firm's Website, www.wrapsol.com, features instructional videos on installation and boasts tons of satisfied customers.

I'd also get a case for a new iPad, perhaps one that would include a Bluetooth keyboard (for typing). I liked the $99 RightShift from Solid Line Products when I tested it last year, and I still do. A smaller-than-optimal, in my opinion, quote-mark-and-apostrophe key, is a bit of a challenge, but not insurmountable.

Just received, and quite impressive, is the Professional WorkStation Portfolio from iLuv, list priced at $119.99. This keyboard features a larger return key and quote-mark/apostrophe key than the RightShift. Its Bluetooth keyboard is detachable, too (held in place by Velcro straps). Using it, I had a bit of trouble from hitting the Caps Lock key instead of the Shift key on the left side, but that should clear up with time.

The iLuv case is a bit more stylish, I think, particularly the small easel in the back. It's a very solid product, and I recommend it for the on-the-go iPad user.

Both keyboards are charged via a USB cable, and should hold that charge for quite some time, as well as offering good battery life. Still, it's wise to make sure everything is charged up before an important work session.

And why, you might ask, would one want a separate keyboard when the iPad has an onscreen one? For one thing, the onscreen keyboard is in two sections: one for letters and a couple of basic punctuation marks, the other for numbers and symbols. Confusing and a bit time consuming, in my view. Second, not using the onscreen keyboard gives you more room in which to work.

What about desktop computer users, or those who park their notebooks in a docking station?

Glad you asked: the Matias Tactile Pro 3, $149.95, is made the way they used to make computer keyboards. Big, solid, responsive keys, a long cable so you can position the keyboard just about anywhere you like, and a nice, big, separate numeric keypad. Oh, and there are three high-power USB ports also, to let you charge or sync things such as an iPhone or MP3 player.

Though primarily designed for Mac users, the keyboard can also be used with a Windows PC. In use, you know you're typing on a real, honest-to-goodness computer keyboard. I like the feel and I recommend this keyboard for those who want something more than the manufacturer-supplied item, but if your work environment is super-quiet, the audible feedback from typing - some would call that "noise" - is noticeable. Information: http://matias.ca/tactilepro3.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles