Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

K2: Teens embracing new legal 'drug' to get high

By Sue Hubbard, M.D.


K2 is a mixture of herbal and spice products that are then sprayed with a psychotropic drug




Oh, the things we must learn to keep up with adolescents! Kids are smart and clever, and will do almost anything for a "high," especially in this case with a product that's easily obtained and legal


JewishWorldReview.com | I was seeing patients the other day when I spotted a teenage boy in the waiting room whom I'd cared for since birth (one of the perks of being a pediatrician). He'd come in over lunch with his mother, who wanted him to be screened for drug use. The mother had found a "pipe" in a pair of the boy's trousers and was concerned that he was smoking marijuana.

I'm often asked to perform drug screens on kids. I think it's important to sit down with the child and his/her parents to discuss their concerns, rather than ruin the trust of the teens and blindside them with results of a drug screen obtained under false pretenses.

The teenage boy told me he'd been smoking K2, saying this was a "legal" substance you could buy over the Internet or in smoke shops. K2 is a mixture of herbal and spice products that are then sprayed with a psychotropic drug. When asked why he would smoke this mixture, the boy said it had similar effects as marijuana, leaving the user feeling good, sleepy and relaxed.



FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Since I didn't know anything about this new substance, I got my computer, brought it into the exam room and "googled" K2, only to see many different articles. The most interesting one was in LiveScience, written earlier this year. The story explained how K2 had been developed by a research scientist who was studying cannabinoid receptors in the brain. He'd published articles about the substance, which when first discovered went by his initials, JWH-018. He found that K2 binds to the same receptors in the brain as marijuana, and that it's actually much more potent than marijuana.

K2 may be 10 times more active than THC (marijuana), and while it may have many of the same effects as the high experienced with marijuana, it's also been found to cause hallucinations and seizures.

Upon further investigation online, I found that K2 is becoming a problem in many states. It has already been declared illegal in Kansas. There are concerns that the drug has caused adverse effects and led to ER visits due to hallucinations, vomiting, elevated blood pressure and heart rate -- not typical symptoms seen with marijuana. K2 does not show up on routine drug screens.

A researcher in St. Louis is studying K2 and seeking urine samples obtained from teens who've used the substance. I called several private labs in my area and they did not have the capability of testing for it. The good news in my patient's case is that he told me about K2, had not smoked it in several weeks, and his urine drug screen was negative for marijuana and other drugs.

Oh, the things we must learn to keep up with adolescents! Kids are smart and clever, and will do almost anything for a "high," especially in this case with a product that's easily obtained and legal. After a lengthy discussion with this boy and his mother, I understand that K2 use is quite prevalent in his high school, even among the "non-drug" crowd.

I will continue researching this topic and keep you posted, but if you have an adolescent who exhibits odd behavior and may even require a visit to the ER for a suspected overdose -- yet the drug screen comes back -- be aware of K2.

Lastly, talk to your teens, they are probably already in the know.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

Dr. Sue Hubbard is a nationally known pediatrician and co-host of "The Kid's Doctor" radio show.











© 2012, KIDSDR.COM DISTRIBUTED BY TRIBUNE MEDIA SERVICES, INC.