Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 29, 2012/ 6 Nissan, 5772

Blown away in Washington, D.C.

By Dale McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Our government is being run by callow youths, striplings who barely remember Gulf War I, let alone Vietnam.

How else to explain a joint study by the National Nuclear Security Administration -- who knew we even had one? -- and the Department of Homeland Security (which we know all too well on an intimate basis).

The study is titled "Key Response Planning Factors for the Aftermath of Nuclear Terrorism," and, in part, purports to tell what would happen if a nuclear device the size of the Oklahoma City bomb were set off in the heart of Washington, D.C. -- 16th and K streets N.W., as a matter of fact.

A summary prepared by the Associated Press says the explosion would destroy everything in every direction within one-half mile. My office is just under half a mile from that intersection. The government's projection that I might instantaneously be reduced to a small cloud of radioactive dust provoked a wave of youthful nostalgia.

To add to the sense of government-induced dread, I, or whatever molecules remained, would be floating toward Baltimore. If there is an afterlife, let me reassure the residents of Charm City that I would make every effort to avoid coating Camden Yards, after Pittsburgh's PNC Park my second-favorite baseball stadium.

AP quotes the report as saying, "An intense flash would temporarily blind drivers on the Beltway miles away." This has to be an inside joke among the Washington security folks because half the drivers on the Beltway are already blind, or at least drive like it.

The report said the blast would wreck everything from the South Lawn of the White House to FBI headquarters in the east. AP didn't say so, but George Washington University to the west and a lot of good saloons on 14th and 17th streets wouldn't fare too well, either.

Everybody else would be OK if they stay away from windows and head immediately to a deep parking garage or a sturdy basement and wait seven hours or so for the radiation to dissipate.

You will be relieved to know that the U.S. Capitol and the major monuments would survive -- chipped and charred, but otherwise unscathed. Maybe not so much the tourists waiting to get in.

The report was never officially published -- it was deemed for "official use only" -- although, as usual, it's available if you search the Internet diligently enough.

Does our government really think we're such wimps?

Gather around, you novice security types, and let me tell you about the darkest days of the Cold War, when a Russian thermonuclear attack with hydrogen bombs was presumed possibly imminent.

The government regularly published maps with concentric circles measured in miles, not blocks. In the inner circle, you would die a quick and hideous death; in the next circle, a lingering hideous death; and in the outer circles your progeny would have two heads and three legs for generations to come.

In my grade school, we were periodically drilled in "duck and cover" under our desks or, given sufficient notice, marched into the hall to sit with our backs against the wall and our heads between our knees.

Our teachers helpfully noted that since our school was practically in the center of Pittsburgh, with its massive steel industry, we would probably be one of the U.S.S.R.'s first targets and thus these safety drills were probably superfluous. We took a great deal of pride in that.

This was also the era of the home bomb shelter, and there were serious discussions about whether you could shoot your neighbors who had neglected to take similar precautions if they tried to crowd into your shelter. Only so much fresh water and Spam, you know. As I recall, these discussions were conducted with a lot more charity and compassion than these "Stand Your Ground" standards of legalized killing.

There was an animated cartoon inflicted on the young called "Duck and Cover," which is still around, in which a monkey in a tree with a stick of dynamite on a string tries to blow up Bert the Turtle.

Bert ducks and covers and the monkey and the tree get blown away. The animal-rights people and the environmentalists probably wouldn't let us get away with that today. You'll just have to take your chances in a parking garage somewhere.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


03/28/12 At the nuke summit an inadvertent moment of candor
03/27/12 A worse unemployment problem
03/23/12 The federal budget: A game of make-believe
03/21/12 In Iraq, blame the U.S., but drive American
03/20/12 Too late, bin Laden realized killing Muslims was a mistake
03/16/12 Hu and Wen leaving. China asks: What next?
03/14/12 Tide, favored by housewives and drug dealers alike
03/09/12 'Spring forward' obsessives and seasonal purists
03/08/12 Really, no place is safe when you think about it
03/06/12 Putin 'carousel voting' victory
02/28/12 Fighter of future still glued to tarmac
02/27/12 Every candidate has to have a tax-reform plan
02/23/12 Au revoir, mademoiselle: It's been bonne
02/21/12 A new way of attacking food-stamp fraud
02/20/12 Feds don't want you driven to distraction
02/15/12 Putin has found can't lose campaign issue: Promoting a randier Russia
02/14/12 Obama's budget lays down battle lines for the fall
02/10/12 Filming in D.C. creates hassle for Hollywood
02/08/12 At Lake Vostok, Russia taps into new realm
02/07/12 'Granny dumping' in prisons
01/30/12 National Defense Authorization Act indefensible
01/23/12 Barbie sparks fear among Iran's mullahs
01/19/12 From overseas, U.S. industry is looking good
01/18/12 American posterior a growing problem for mass transit
01/16/12 Planets and roaches
01/13/12 Not exactly a biblical plague, but certainly an annoyance
01/12/12 Fewer young Americans interested in driving
01/05/12 Majoring in unemployment
01/04/12 Cutting the military by blunt force
01/02/12 Pragmatic look at top words
12/22/11 Basketball the way to Kim's heart and nuclear weapons
12/21/12 Speculation and wishful thinking can get scary
12/20/11 A third Kim has North Korea by the throat
12/19/11 Congress pats itself on back for budget bill
12/15/11 The U.S. government is cashing in its chips, literally
12/14/11 TSA might try trusting its own people
12/12/11 That $1.2 billion? It's around here some place
12/09/11 State Department Creates ‘Virtual Embassy’ For Iran
12/08/11 If you've ever tweeted, you're in the Library of Congress
12/07/11 Discoveries go to the core of what makes us humans
12/06/11 Stealing elections badly in Russia
12/05/11 Sometimes paranoia is common sense by another name
12/02/11 When the U.S. truly became one nation
12/01/11 Last chance to snap up a Maybach
11/30/11 Iran wants respect without earning it
11/29/11 Surprise! ‘Spider-Man’ may weave a profitable web
11/28/11 Italians entertain novel proposition: Paying their taxes
11/25/11 No time to let up on al-Qaida
11/24/11 Congress Quietly Abolishing Friday
11/23/11 Cleaning up after supercommittee implosion
11/22/11 Jailing minors with adults adds to problems
11/21/11 Brilliant strategy? Action by inaction
11/18/11They're going to eat horses, aren't they?
11/17/11 A pretend stick shift for pretend drivers
11/16/11 Clinton's ‘vast experiences’: Did NBC pick the wrong Chelsea?
11/15/11 Occupy protesters, you've made your point. Now, scat
11/10/11 Our vets are a national problem?
11/09/11 Requiem for a once-great sport
11/08/11 A toilet as smart as its occupant
11/07/11 Prerevolutionary gems in need of TLC
11/04/11 Feds must stop scam of stealing from dead children
11/03/11 Bank listens ‘very closely’ to customer lynch mob
11/01/11 TV that's leading the people away from ‘core socialist values’
10/31/11 NATO should not be a victim of its success
10/28/11 Iran mulls getting rid of president and presidency
10/27/11 Bienvenidos a Dayton and bring your businesses with you
10/26/11 Archivists long for Obama's teleprompter
10/25/11 United Nations to run the Internet?
10/24/11 Attention, world: You've got the cash. We've got the houses
10/19/11 Oil pipeline must be in America's future
10/18/11 U.S. plans ‘limited’ mission in an Africa with no limits
10/17/11 Social Security's grave mistakes
10/12/11 NASA's help-wanted sign for astronauts
10/10/11 Saving Thomas Jefferson''s chimneys
10/06/11 Uncle Sam's answer to deadbeats --- robo-calls
10/04/11 Christie should ignore jibes on his weight
10/03/11 Iran says its warships will head for Jersey shore
09/29/11 Europeans bristle at Obama's lectures
09/28/11 Jessica Rabbit for the defense
09/27/11 Russia learns outcome of next March's presidential election
09/26/11 Another try at leaving no child behind
09/23/11 This generation needs a job more than a name
09/22/11 In the lane next to you: A driverless car
09/20/11 Cloudy, cool, chance of falling satellite
09/14/11 Humanitarian extortion
09/13/11 Paging Dr. Watson; he's there in 3 seconds
09/09/11 Forecasting 100 percent chance of heavy metal
09/08/11 A jobs program at Obama's doorstep
09/07/11 Iran's government afraid of the water
09/06/11 Congress returns, tanned, rested and testy
09/05/11 Space nations must clean up after themselves
09/02/11 Osama bin Laden died a failure and he knew it
09/01/11 Time to retire political pie in the face
08/31/11 Labor Day celebrates what, exactly?
08/30/11 These arrestees really are framed
08/25/11 When in an earthquake, block traffic
08/23/11 A case for discretion in deportation arrests
08/22/11 Tough times or not, parents shell out for school
08/18/11 Being unpleasant for fun, profit, promotion
08/17/11 Time to prepare for the end game in Libya
08/16/11: ‘Super Committee’ starts facing reality
08/15/11: World's fastest plane disappears even faster
08/12/11: British cops track rioters through security cameras
08/11/11: Relax. There is no Death Star
08/10/11: House pages run final errands
08/09/11: U.S. treading water on job creation
08/08/11: Uncle Sam, the world's permanent guest
08/05/11: Most 9/11 victims not on federal death records
08/04/11: Russian PM calls U.S. a ‘parasite.’ He should be so lucky
08/03/11: Congress goes from one bind to another
08/02/11: D.B. Cooper may no longer be a mystery
08/01/11: Libya's latest weapon against NATO --- lawsuits
07/29/11: He'll always be known as Hot Wheels Handler
07/25/11: Recruiting children to save a dying town
07/22/11: Bachmann's admirable medical candor
07/12/11: Social Security's grave mistakes
07/08/11: Debt crisis need not be constitutional crisis
07/07/11: Startups entice new talent with kickball, treehouses
07/05/11: Stranded tourists get rare treat
06/30/11: The dollar Americans refuse to spend
06/27/11: The hangman doesn't cometh





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles