Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 23, 2011 17 Adar II, 5771

Obama Goes for the War Trifecta

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Iraq, and Afghanistan and Libya — oh, my. Three wars at once! Message to the world: Look upon our might and tremble.

President Barack Obama has invented his own definition of triangulation: It now means stretching our military resources between three separate wars.

And the cost of our new war in Libya, estimated by some to be $100 million per day? Forgedda about it. Ain't we the richest, most prosperous nation on the earth? Well, actually, we aren't. But we will be again someday! (If we could just stop fighting these wars.)

President Obama inherited the first two wars he is fighting. But Libya is all his. True, the White House does not want to call it a war, and much of the mainstream media have gone along.

Watching the "NBC Nightly News" the other day, I heard Libya called a "military action." Sure it is. Just like Korea was a "police action." Some 33,700 Americans lost their lives fighting in Korea, and I am sure it seemed like a war to them.

But President Obama cannot admit that we are fighting a war because candidate Obama said in 2007, "The president does not have power under the Constitution to unilaterally authorize a military attack in a situation that does not involve stopping an actual or imminent threat to the nation,"

But Obama has now launched such an attack even though the civil war in Libya clearly does not involve a threat to America. That's OK, however, the White House says, because Libya is not a real war. It may walk like a duck and talk like a duck, but it is not a duck. (Let's just hope it doesn't turn out to be a turkey.)

"This is a limited — in terms of scope, duration and task — operation, which does fall in the president's authorities," says Tom Donilon, Obama's national security advisor.

Congress is now whining about this — Rep. Dennis Kucinich, Democrat of Ohio, says this "would appear on its face to be an impeachable offense" — but Congress will do nothing. Congress has not stood up for its constitutional authority to declare war since World War II, and it is not about to stand up on its hind legs now.

In Egypt, we saw hundreds of thousands of civilians throng the streets. The police and military joined them, and thus a dictator was toppled.

In Libya we have not seen this. We have seen small bands of young men equipped with automatic weapons who seem to enjoy firing them into the air for the news cameras. (Personally, I would advise the rebels to save their ammunition.)

Who are the rebels? Who is arming them? What is their agenda? What kind of government — democratic, religious fundamentalist, terrorist — will replace Moammar Gadhafi? We do not know. Those parts of Operation Odyssey Dawn — the first military operation named after a stripper, as David Letterman dryly put it — are not specified.

To an American electorate who thought Obama might become the next Franklin Roosevelt, Obama seems on his way to becoming the next Teddy Roosevelt. Obama launches a war and then takes off to see the Andes! Bully, very bully! (Though Teddy Roosevelt, who unabashedly loved the adrenalin of war, never presided over one as president. And he won the Nobel Prize in 1906 for negotiating a peace treaty between Russia and Japan, becoming the first American to win a Nobel in any category.)

President Obama already has his Nobel, so I guess he doesn't have to worry about the difficult task of peace treaties. Instead, he is going for the trifecta: military victories in Iraq, Afghanistan and Libya.

You know how often trifectas pay off? Not often. But if Obama pulls this off, he enters the history books as a three-time winner.

I sure hope he is stopping at three, anyway.

The president has assured us that no U.S. ground forces will fight in Libya (I guess only our air forces are expendable), but we must get rid of Gadhafi, though we are not targeting Gadhafi. After all, Gadhafi is a dictator who is shooting his own civilian population. Just like the dictator in Bahrain is shooting his own civilian population. But we are not going to send any jets over Bahrain.

Why not? National Security Advisor Donilon once again provides the answer: "Bahrain is a very different case. There's no — there's not a comparison between Bahrain and Libya. Bahrain has been a longtime ally of the United States of America and a longtime partner."

Oh, well, now I get it. If you are a longtime partner of the United States, you can shoot down your people in the streets like dogs. But if you are not a longtime partner, we will come and bomb you.

Sort of encourages countries to become our longtime partners, doesn't it?

And you thought our foreign policy didn't make sense.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate