Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 16, 2011 10 Adar II, 5771

Why War in Libya?

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Why are we so eager to go to war in Libya? Why is the president on the verge of being stampeded into establishing a no-fly zone there that will create our third ongoing war?

Is President Obama worried that he will be accused of being "Obambi" again? Is he concerned that his critics once again will accuse him of being too detached?

It seems to me that when it comes to intervening in a civil war in which America's security is not at stake, a president should be a little detached. And should move very, very carefully.

True, the Arab League has endorsed a no-fly zone. And some of the 22 countries that form the league have used the billions of petro-dollars they make to buy sophisticated weapons systems, including very modern jet aircraft, with highly trained pilots, some of whom have been trained in the United States.

And how many of these planes and pilots will those Arab countries use to help us maintain the no-fly zone over Libya?

None. Zero. Zilch. The Arab League countries don't want to kill Arabs in Libya. They want the United States to do it for them.

"But there is much they can do," one American official said recently of the league, "from providing airfields to gas and maintenance."

Whoop-de-do.

But you have to cut the Arab League a break. It can hardly be expected to fight and die for democracy, since most of its members despise democracy.

So once again, even with NATO support, this will be our war, just as it is our war in Afghanistan and Iraq, even though we have a few allies.

We went into Iraq in pursuit of imaginary weapons of mass destruction. We went into Afghanistan to disrupt the ability of al-Qaida to strike us again as it did on Sept. 11, 2001. We have been successful in Afghanistan, at the cost of many lives and much money. But we remain there, supporting a government that is probably no less corrupt at heart than Moammar Gadhafi's.

But how can we fail to intervene in Libya? After all, Gadhafi is a cruel and corrupt dictator, and we don't support cruel and corrupt dictators.

Except when we do, which is a lot. We do business with countries that have shameful records on human rights because we need what they have to sell or, like China, they buy up our debt and allow our government to function as flawlessly as it does.

But now the war drums are beating loudly in Washington. The United States must militarily intervene in Libya, because we owe it to the people. Or to the rebels. Or somebody.

And we owe it to them because democracy is our business, and we export it whenever we can. Except when we don't. We aren't arming rebels in Saudi Arabia. Or even off our very shores in Cuba.

Egypt managed to have a revolution without us, for which the people deserve much credit. Will they form a lasting democracy? Maybe and maybe not.

In Libya, where we are about to risk American lives, surely the rebels believe in representative government and human rights, right?

Well, we don't know. All we know is that they are fighting Gadhafi.

Gadhafi unfortunately has the heavy equipment and planes to fight back. The no-fly zone is supposed to keep his planes from flying, but it would do nothing about his helicopter gunships, artillery or tanks.

And, even more unfortunately, Gadhafi might have surface-to-air missiles that would put our pilots at risk.

But President Obama is edging closer to intervention in Libya. Why? For what? For whom?

For Marwan Buhidma, that's who. He is a Libyan rebel, and he was quoted by Anthony Shadid in The New York Times on Sunday in a paragraph that illuminates a stunning amount not just about the Libyan war, but modern times and modern culture:

"'Some guys consider this a lot of fun, and they're hoping the war lasts longer,' said Marwan Buhidma, a 21-year-old computer student who credited video games with helping him figure out how to operate a 14.5-millimeter antiaircraft battery."

The story ended on this:

"'I don't know what to call this,' Mr. Buhidma said, his voice earnest. "Do you consider this war, or civil war, or religious war? It's confusing to me, very confusing. I don't know."

Well, Mr. Buhidma, the United States doesn't know either. We are equally confused.

But don't worry, we are on our way. And we'll bring some video games with us.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate