Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 22, 2011/ 16 Adar II, 5771

A cowboy poem for Harry Reid

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Well, Mr. Harry Reid, leader of the U.S. Senate majority,

You're plum wrong about federal-funded cowboy poetry.

A few weeks back, you took to the Senate floor

Deploring cuts to a cowboy-poetry festival you said would be no more.

It exists through the benevolence of the federal government, you decried,

Whose funding makes it bona fide.

Don't you know, Mr. Harry Reid,

That America is the land of the free?

We built this land through our grit and our guts,

Not the misuse of taxpayer funds.

That's the thing we're desperate to be ending,

Ridiculous spending and Chinese lending.

But in Washington, D.C., there's a disconnect,

Between those who produce and those who collect.

We already spend too much on things we can't cover,

Yet some politicians are eager to add others.

Here's what is worrying us average Joes,

We're worried for our kids and what their future will hold.

We broke, we're flat, we've got nothing to spend,

Unnecessary programs must come to an end.

Yet for the prior two years, sir, you and some others

Have grown government to the point that it smothers.

And so it was you took an economic mess

And you did your best to make it a "permanent worse."

The stimulus program you said was a "must"

Is dang near a trillion-dollar bust.

Thanks to the health care "plan" your party rammed through,

Private job creators aren't sure what to do.

Spending too little is the least of our woes,

Our federal budget is nearly $4 trillion -- twice what it was just a decade ago!

There's no mystery why unemployment remains high,

Yet big-spending politicians scratch their heads -- why?

Your spendthrift ways we won't keep "swallerin',"

And you still have no clue what is causing our hollerin'?

Here's something we want you to try,

Embrace the wisdom of the cowboy poems you want us to buy.

You need not worry about cowboy poets,

They're Americans strong and resilient, you just don't know it.

If it's a cowboy-poetry festival they wish to run,

They'll figure out how to raise private funds.

America did better without government largess,

A contributor to our deficit mess.

With all due respect, Mr. Harry Reid,

It is introspection you need.

Your "yearnin's" have got ahead of our "earnin's,"

That's why our economy keeps not "returnin'."

Any fool knows this maxim to be a big one,

When you've dug yourself into a hole, a smart feller stops digging!

Not you, though, Mr. Harry Reid,

There's nothing to impede your spending need.

We know of only one thing that will do,

Though we'll have to wait till 2012 for that to come true.

We hope and pray that our once great land

Will muster the courage to take a stand.

That we elect new political leaders who do the right thing,

Which is to bring discipline to our spending.

Leadership is what we need,

Bold, honest and unafraid.

We need a paradigm shift if we are to recover,

A simplified government we must rediscover.

If we do not rein in our reckless ways,

Growth will evade for many more days.

Massive growth is essential, you see,

To generate billions more in new tax money.

We need fewer people across our great land,

Turning to our government and holding out hands.

As nice as cowboy poetry may be,

Taxpayers shouldn't fund it in this democracy.

You got that, Mr. Harry Reid?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles