Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 18, 2011 / 17 Adar II, 5771

Apple iPad 2 a good upgrade, a good value

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I wasn't planning to write about the Apple iPad 2; I wasn't even anticipating getting my hands on one for a while. But a combination of circumstances led me to the Apple Store at the Columbia, Maryland Mall last Friday afternoon. There, along with, I'd estimate, 300 of my closest new friends, I stood in line for about three hours just to buy one.

That I got the model I wanted, and before sunset, was a bit of an accomplishment.

Your options for getting an iPad 2, whose non-3G prices of $499 to $699 are the same as the Wi-Fi only models of the 2010 iPad, may be a bit slim this week. The Apple retail outlets sold out in blazingly fast time. You might find the Wi-Fi-plus 3G models at either AT&T or Verizon stores (Best Buy and Wal-Mart were also carrying the product) this week, but if you order online from Apple, waits could be three or four weeks.

Is it worth it? For my money, yes, at least for now: lighter by a few ounces, the iPad 2 is easier to hold when reading in bed, and it's even nicer to carry during a workday. It has new, built-in cameras, front and back, that let you do video chats (called "FaceTime" after the Apple application) and lets you take pictures and record videos. It's thinner - did I mention that? - and thus the easier-to-hold thing.

Oh, and there's the "Smart Cover," list price $69, which clamps on to the iPad 2 (and only that model), not only protecting the display screen, but also turning the device on and off when the cover is opened or closed. The cover also folds up into a small stand for easier reading and writing at a desk or on an airplane.

Depending upon whom you're speaking with, somewhere between 30 percent and 70 percent of buyers of the iPad 2 already have a 2010 iPad, so you might be able to score some bargains on "gently used" models. ("This one is a real creampuff. It was used by a little old lady from Pasadena who only took it to church on Sundays.")

But the value of the iPad 2, in my opinion is not that it advances the technology in some useful ways, but also that it points the way to a better tablet-computing future. Motorola's Xoom is getting a lot of TV advertising, at least on the Verizon FiOS cable system, which is owned by the telephone company offering that tablet on its cellular network. But the Xoom - and any other tablet you care to name - isn't getting the same level of attention from buyers. No one is standing in line for three hours to buy one of these devices, after all.

Performance, using an A5 processor that research firm UBM TechInsights says comes from Samsung, is faster than that of its predecessor, though not by much. Byt even a few seconds' gain is helpful on something that is in constant use.

I like the cameras in the unit, but it helps to have a subject close in to get a good photo; I was able to snap a decent picture of Fox 5 DC's Steve Chenevey on Monday morning as we sat on a set at the station. However, another picture of his co-anchor, Sarah Simmons, was less satisfying. Bottom line: the built-in camera is good, but won't replace even a point-and-shoot.

I also like the intelligence behind the "Smart Cover" concept, even if $69 is a bit much. It shows that Apple is thinking of even incremental ways to make its tablet computing experience better and more practical.

That may be why Apple has such a dominant share of the tablet computing market, and why it's likely to continue to have one for some time to come. I can recommend the iPad 2 easily and happily - now, all you have to do is find one.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles