Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 11, 2011 / 5 Adar II, 5771

Traveling with a tablet: the good and the bad

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Question: Could I spend five days on the road, working, with a tablet computer, and not a notebook PC, as my primary data system?

Answer: "Kinda sorta," and therein lies a tale.

In late February and early March, your columnist was at a specialized trade show in Nashville, Tenn., interviewing authors and speakers, covering a speech, and working remotely. Unlike most trips, however, I didn't carry a notebook computer, but rather the soon-to-be "old," or first generation, version of Apple Inc.'s iPad portable tablet computer. Add in a few accessories, and I'd hoped to be able to do most, if not all, of my work toting a system much smaller in size and with far better battery life.

The results were decidedly mixed. Thanks to "cloud computing," wherein services and data reside on the Internet or, "in the cloud," as geeks like to say, I could do several things without too much hassle: work and personal e-mail headed that list, but also some document editing and sharing were accessible this way.

Add a $29 Apple "camera connection kit" to the iPad and you can either read SD-format memory cards, or connect a camera directly via a USB cable. That should let you upload a bunch of photos for editing on the iPad and subsequent transmission.

How did all that work out? Again, it "kinda sorta" did.

E-mail, Internet surfing and other Web-based work went reasonably well: add either Apple's Wireless Keyboard ($49 list) or the Kensington KeyFolio ($99 list; $59 at Amazon.com) and you've got a Bluetooth-based way of inputting data and navigating the Web. The Apple Wireless Keyboard has a nice feel to it and can be used with the iPad in either portrait or landscape orientation. The KeyFolio puts the iPad in landscape orientation so that you can use its keyboard. The KeyFolio keyboard is also quite good, and adds some iPad-specific control keys.

If you're not using the KeyFolio, the $49 iChair iPad stand is superb: it'll give you support for both modes, portrait and landsacape, but in portrait mode, the fold-out easel stand is just excellent. I recommend it highly.

Where did things fail? Principally in terms of communications, at least via Wi-Fi. The photo files my camera generates are large; because of this, transmitting photos via the iPad using Wi-Fi was a long, and ultimately unsatisfying process - the photos didn't go through.

That poses a problem for me, work-wise: reporting stories and sending along photos is a big part of what I do. Then again, it would also be part of the work of, say, an insurance claims adjuster, an interior designer, or a real estate broker, to name just three professions. If such work can't be easily done via a tablet, then there's a problem.

The lack of Adobe Flash support on the iPad was much less of an issue than I thought it would be. There were some Websites where there was content I could not access, but fewer than I'd imagined, and, frankly, not having some of those distractions was a plus. Still, the Flash issue is a limitation, one I might have to take more seriously if my work depended upon it.

Otherwise, the iPad performed quite well. I could do most Web surfing easily, writing, with either Apple's Pages application or some other iPad-specific word processors, was enjoyable. And except for the aforementioned photo issue, data communications was a breeze.

Then again, I was only gone for five days, my deadlines were a tad more flexible, and when I got back on Wednesday, I could quickly upload and transmit my photos as needed. Were this a longer road trip, I might have had more difficulty.

The just announced Apple iPad 2 may solve some of these problems as it releases on March 11. And other tablets will come to market this year promising more capabilities - there's even talk of iPad 3 already!

But this much is clear: answers for mobile computing needs are getting smaller, lighter and faster. As technology in this space improves, my road warrior "fantasy" (and perhaps yours) may soon become a rock-solid reality.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles