Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 24, 2011 /181 Adar II, 5771

Readers reach verdict on lawyer column

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of the many reasons I didn't go to law school was that I didn't want to be part of a universally despised profession.

Instead, I studied journalism.

The irony is not lost on me.

Neither profession is more admired, envied or respected than the other. But we are not alike. The differences are obvious — lawyers make more money than journalists, lawyers are better punch lines for jokes than journalists and lawyers can only watch helplessly when journalists make fun of them in columns.

I heard from quite a few attorneys after last week's column on lawyer movies. I may have told a few lawyer jokes along the way. Who could resist the opportunity? My only regret is that I only had space for 800 words. Entire books could be written on the subject of lawyer jokes.

———

LAWYER JOKE ALERT

—A terrorist hijacks a plane-load of lawyers, and threatens to release one every hour until his demands are met.

—Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, an honest lawyer and a wino are walking down the street when they spot a $20 bill on the sidewalk. Who ends up with it? The wino, of course. The others aren't real.

—What's the difference between a lawyer and a pit bull? A Rolex.

———

Anyway, I digress. The point of the column was that, despite widely held disregard for members of the legal profession, movie audiences seem to enjoy a good lawyer movie.

Matthew McConaughey stars in the latest entry in this genre, a courtroom thriller called "The Lincoln Lawyer." The 41-year-old actor, who last portrayed an attorney 15 years ago in "A Time to Kill," plays a slick attorney who practices law from the back seat of a Lincoln Continental. He is ecstatic when he secures a wealthy client, only to discover that the rich are not that different.

Last week, I compiled a list of my favorite lawyer movies, which was headed by one of the great movies of all time — "To Kill a Mockingbird" with Gregory Peck. It was followed, in order, by: "The Verdict," "Adam's Rib," "A Few Good Men," "My Cousin Vinny," "Legally Blonde," "Inherit the Wind," "Anatomy of a Murder," "Primal Fear" and "… And Justice for All."

The list drew a harsh response from movie lovers who were flabbergasted that I not only had included "Legally Blonde" on the list, but had ranked it higher than "Inherit the Wind."

OK, if you read me regularly, you know that I am not afraid to admit when I am wrong. Normally, I don't like to point accusatory fingers but it was HIS FAULT (you can't see me but I'm pointing my finger at a headline writer).

He is one of top headline writers in the business, but he made an assumption in the print version of my column that I was doing one of my usual "best of" lists. In this case, I intentionally used the word "favorite."

I confined the list to my favorites so that I could include a few comedies. If I were to make a list of the best lawyer movies ever made, the list would have been different.

No big deal, but I feel an obligation to explain the confusion.

Many readers agreed with many of my selections, including my top choice. But a number of readers were adamant that I missed the best single lawyer movie ever made — "Witness for the Prosecution" and "Judgment at Nuremberg."

I named two movies because an equal number of readers named one or the other as the best movie. In fact, one reader said those two should be listed at numbers 1 and 2, and "To Kill a Mockingbird" should be third.

Other number ones suggested by readers included "Paths of Glory," "Philadelphia," "The Firm," "The Paper Chase," Liar Liar," "Presumed Innocent," "A Man for All Seasons," "Erin Brockovich" and "The Devil and Daniel Webster."

Most of the readers who identified themselves as attorneys were good-natured about the jokes, but at least one Ohio attorney took great offense at the jokes, and to the mockery of his chosen profession.

He said he had never read my column before but assumed I was an idiot (astute gentleman), and he was particularly incensed that I had included William Shakespeare's famous line about killing all the lawyers. He insisted that the Bard did not "jump on the lawyer-bashing bandwagon," as I so delicately put it, but was praising lawyers in "Henry VI." He claims that Shakespeare was talking revolution, saying that an important strategy would be to first kill the lawyers and thereby disrupt the justice system.

I throw myself on the mercy of the court. However, he can't tell me that Shakespeare's line has not become the rallying cry for everyone who hates lawyers.

Which reminds me of a joke …

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles