Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 31, 2011 / 25 Adar II, 5771

The royal wedding: I don't get it

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is with great trepidation and regret that I begin this column by breaking the most important rule of column-writing.

I'm asking for your advice.

Columnists never need anyone's advice. By his or her very nature, a columnist is a smarty-pants know-it-all who gives unsolicited advice to strangers. No one ever asks for our advice, but we offer it anyway because we think we know everything. No, we know that we know everything.

Well, I'm stumped on something, and I'm asking for your help. I really am perplexed about this, and I certainly am capable of wasting 800 snarky words on the subject. But my curiosity has gotten the best of me, and I truly would like for you to help me.

Please explain why I should care about the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton on April 29 in Westminster Abbey?

Seriously, I want to understand the fuss that is being made over this royal wedding, not just by the media but by the American public.

From the moment the engagement was announced at a well-manicured press conference on Nov. 16, the national media have inundated us with "news" on the pending nuptials. OK, I understand why celebrity-obsessed magazines and TV networks are going crazy. It's all about money. Kate Middleton on a cover sells magazines.

But that doesn't explain why regular people care. There is no good reason why people would follow the media's lead on this matter, unless they genuinely care about this wedding. And that's what boggles my little brain.

One can grasp the concept of a popular royal wedding in England. It's part of their history. It's in their nature to idolize the royal family. And, in this case, we're talking about their future king.

However, he's not my future king. Bruce Springsteen may be my boss, but Prince William of Wales is not my king. And he is not YOUR king. I also don't care that he is marrying a commoner. I'm a commoner. I assume that you are a commoner. Why is she getting special treatment by the media?

Believe me, I understand that a royal wedding is seen as a diversion from the difficulties we face in the real world, but don't we have diversions of our own? Why was "Dancing with the Stars" created, if not as a diversion from a bad economy, lost jobs, three wars and nuclear meltdowns?

Imagine that I am lying prone metaphorically in a position of humility when I ask for your help. It fills me with pain — not quite kidney-stone pain, but perhaps a good headache pain — to ask for your help because it signals weakness in the columnist world.

I realize that the son of the beloved Princess Diana is automatically a favorite among the people, but to be honest, the public loved Lady Di long before she had children. Her wedding 30 years ago was huge. A reported 750 million people watched the wedding on television, but I haven't believed exaggerated numbers like those since the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences started touting their one billion viewers for the Oscars. Why would 750 million people no longer under the thumb of the British Empire care that this beautiful young woman was marrying Prince Charles, who is not exactly the most charismatic or popular human being on the planet?

The only number I believe is the burgers served by McDonald's. I'm sure they use reputable accounting practices to determine that.

This obsession and fascination with royal weddings didn't start with Charles and Diana. The marriage of Charles' parents, Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip, was just as big an event. I'll bet 750 million people listened to it on radio.

All the British crown weddings are a big deal, and that's the part I don't get.

And I must tell you that I am not a royal-hater. I have nothing against the royal family. I like movies about the royal family.

I just want to know why when the engagement was announced, the entire world stopped long enough to care? Believe me, if I had a funny answer, I would be writing it right now.

But I am so mystified that I am breaking column-writing rule number one. Please help me.

Send your answers to the email address included at the bottom of this column. I will try to pass along your answers to readers and other confused columnists in a subsequent column because I certainly can't be the only person stumped by this one.

One more thing — I don't want anyone to think that this column is in any way an underhanded way to get invited to the wedding. I have no hidden agenda. I wouldn't go if I were invited. But maybe you could include in your responses why I would want to go to this wedding.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles