Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 27, 2009 / 2 Nisan 5769

Jack Bauer meets Barack Obama ... or does he?

By Diana West


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Editor's note: While the "24" references and characters below are fictional, the message to Iran attributed to "the President" below is directly quoted from President Barack Obama's message to Iran of March 20, 2009.


The following takes place in an unseen episode of "24."


Tony Almeda, glowering, is watching the President live on a television in a coffee shop across the street from the White House.


The President (on screen): "In particular, I would like to speak directly to the people and leaders of the Islamic Republic of Iran. Nowruz is just one part of your great and celebrated culture...."


Without taking his eyes off the screen, Tony punches in a number on his cell.


Jack Bauer answers. "Yeah," he breathes, also watching the president on a mirror server uploaded to his monitor.


The President: "Over many centuries, your art, your music, literature and innovation have made the world a better and more beautiful place...."


Tony: "Are you watching the President?"


Jack, making his way to his car as he downloads a frame grab to his PDA: "Copy."


Tony, walking toward the White House: "What's he talking about, 'innovation'? Does he mean the high-tech armor-piercing roadside bombs Iran "innovated" to kill and maim hundreds of U.S. troops in Iraq?"


Jack, now speeding across the 14th Street Bridge into downtown Washington: "Copy. And notice the specific reference to 'the leaders of the Islamic Republic of Iran.' The president is directly addressing A-jad and the mullahs, and thus in some unprecedented way America is now legitimizing the 1979 Khomeini revolution."


Tony: "Copy that, too. Are you thinking what I'm thinking?"


Jack: "Copy. No American president would ever, could ever, lower himself and our nation to grovel like this to that vicious Islamic regime. Unless — Tony, someone's gotten to the president. He's in trouble."


Tony, eyes narrowing as he peers at the White House: "Copy."


The President (on Jack's car radio): "We know that you are a great civilization and your accomplishments have earned the respect of the United States and the world...."


Jack parks near the White House and joins Tony by the fence.


Jack: "Someone must be forcing the president to make this broadcast, Tony, forcing him to grovel to the mullah-ocracy. We need weapons, surveillance equipment, thumbtacks, quick." Punches in a number on his cell."


Jack: "Chloe?"


Chloe, also watching the president on television: "Jack!"


The President: "We seek instead engagement that is honest and grounded in mutual respect...."


Jack: "The president is being coerced into surrendering to Iran."


Chloe: "I know. I'm watching. How else could he talk about 'mutual respect' with a regime obsessed with Holocaust denial, nuking Israel and destroying America?"


Jack: "Copy."


Chloe: "Jack, who could be making the president do this?!"


Jack: "We don't find out for a few more episodes, Chloe. You know that."


Chloe: "OK. Listen, I just accessed encrypted Secret Service bandwidths to confirm the President's children are at school, but what about the First Lady? Do we have a visual?"


Tony, urgent: "Jack, I think I see the First Lady being held by weird-looking hostiles in white coats in that untamed thicket over there."


Jack, looking up: "No, that's just the First Lady with her chefs in the new White House organic vegetable garden. Chloe, I need the most current CIRG logs and recognition codes for entry in the Oval Office."


Chloe: "I'm on it, OK. I've downloaded them to your PDA."


Jack: "Copy. We're on it."


From a duct over the Oval Office, Jack and Tony hear the President wrapping up as Jack noiselessly drills an eyehole in the plaster wall.


The President: "With the coming of a new season, we're reminded of this precious humanity that we all share."


Jack, under his breath: "Precious humanity we share? What about the regime's hanging of homosexuals and stoning-to-death of adulterers? Tony, just recently a 25-year-old Iranian blogger named Omidreza Mirsayafi died during his two-year prison term for 'insulting' Ayatollah Khomeini and criticizing the government."


Tony: "The President must be under incredible duress. We've got to save him."


The President, concluding: "Thank you and Eid-eh Shoma Mobarak."


An Aide: "OK. All clear. Thank you, Mr. President. We'll get you up on YouTube within the hour."


The President: "I want it out on Al Jazeera, too."


Aide: "Of course."


Surreptitiously, Jack peers into the room.


The President: "Thank you all. That was great. I've been wanting to do that for a long time. Now, when is the Islamic Republic of Iran's actual Independence Day — or whatever they call it? Maybe we can send them a cake, or pie, or something."


Tony: "How many hostiles, Jack?"


Jack is still surveying the apparently peaceful scene when the First Lady enters.


First Lady: "Hi, honey. Want some organic broccoli?"


Jack: "No hostiles, Tony. Or maybe all hostiles." Punches in a number on his cell.


"Chloe, download the reverse quadralinear coordinates to my PDA so we can get out of here. The President of the United States just groveled to Iran because he wanted to. And that makes this whole thing one lost episode."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DIANA'S LATEST BOOK ...
at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.) by clicking HERE.

JWR contributor Diana West is a columnist for The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


Up


© 2008, Diana West