Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 3, 2009 / 7 Adar 5769

No excuses: Why newspapers are dying and why it's the ‘mainstream’ media's fault

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Jack, I've found you a new job!" said the email from Michael Vincent, "your friend in success." I've never met Mr. Vincent, but he assures me I can make $150,000 a year or more by working just an hour a day on my computer at home.


I've been getting a lot of spam emails like this. They must know I'm a journalist.


I used to say I was in a declining industry, but I was declining faster than it was. This is no longer true. The Rocky Mountain News published its last edition Friday (Feb 27). The Seattle Post-Intelligencer and the San Francisco Chronicle probably won't make it to April Fools Day.


The Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, the Philadelphia Inquirer and the Philadelphia Daily News all are bankrupt. The New York Times avoided bankruptcy only by receiving a cash infusion from Carlos Slim on terms so favorable to the Mexican billionaire that New York Times publisher "Pinch" Sulzberger must have conducted the negotiations bent over his desk, with his pants around his ankles.


We have a technological problem, which we've compounded with a trust problem, and remarkably bad business judgment.


The heyday of the newspaper business was the 1920s. If you wanted the news first, you came to us. (Extra! Extra! Read all about it!) If you wanted the news in depth, you came to us. If you wanted pictures, you came to us.


But then along came radio, and we were no longer first. Then television, which had pictures that moved. When the Web came along, we assumed it was yet another technological blow, when in fact it had the potential to reverse all the earlier blows. With the Web, we could post the news — including pictures that move — just as fast as radio or television.


Since we could distribute worldwide instantaneously for virtually no cost, we could have made a lot of money selling Web subscriptions for as little as $5 a month. But people are now used to getting the fruits of our labor for free. It'll be hard to unring that bell.


Newspapers are bleeding in substantial part because much of our most profitable classified advertising has migrated to the Web. Our Web sites could have been the Matchmaker.com for singles in our communities, or the Cars.com for car buyers, but we missed that opportunity.


You'll miss us when we're gone, say journalists to Americans who are not as alarmed as we at the prospect of our demise.


"News stories do not sprout up like Jack's beanstalk on the Internet," wrote San Francisco Chronicle columnist Debra Saunders in JWR last week. "To produce news, you need professionals who understand the standards needed to research, report and write on what happened. If newspapers die, reliable information dries up...When you read content in a newspaper, you consistently can rely on it."


If Ms. Saunders had glanced recently at the corrections column in the New York Times, she never could have written that last sentence with a straight face. Our technological problems are aggravated because roughly half our potential circulation base believes (with ample justification) that reporting the news has taken a back seat to slanting the news.


Journalists look down their noses at bloggers. But former Special Forces soldier Michael Yon (Michael Yon Online Magazine) and Bill Roggio (Long War Journal) have been doing the reporting on Iraq and Afghanistan the "mainstream" media ought to be doing, but aren't. It was bloggers, not his MSM colleagues, who demonstrated Dan Rather was relying on forgeries for his CBS documentary on President Bush's National Guard service.


Newspapers have no more future in the age of the iPhone than buggy whip manufacturers did in the age of the Model T. But the demand for accurate, timely information is greater than ever. If we get a little more Web savvy — okay, a lot more Web savvy — and lose the attitude, the adjectives and the "news analyses," it could be us "mainstream" journalists who provide it. If we don't, others will fill the void, and they won't miss us when we're gone.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2008, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles