Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 21, 2008 / 14 Adar I 5768

On Purim, What's Covered Is Revealed

By Gary Rosenblatt



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Not so long ago Eliot Spitzer was governor of New York and seen by many to be on the fast track to high national office.


David Paterson was treading the political waters of Albany, much liked by those who worked with him, but how many New Yorkers could have named their lieutenant governor?


The dollar was strong and Bear Stearns was one of the biggest firms on Wall Street, a venerable and respected leader of finance for 85 years.


Reading the Book of Esther today, on the holiday of Purim, one is reminded of this topsy-turvy quality of life. Indeed one of the consistent themes in the ancient story is the concept of v'nehapach hu, loosely translated as inside out and upside down. Events in the narrative take dramatic turns at a dizzying pace, and people's fortunes rise and fall just as quickly.


Such frenetic change seems to be taking place all around us today in our age of multitasking and 24/7 news cycles, but Purim reminds us that our experiences are not unique.


In the Book of Esther, Haman is on top of the world, second in command in the Persian empire, and then he is brought down quite suddenly by the very man he sought to destroy. The gallows he builds to kill Mordechai are used for his own execution. The Jewish people, under threat of extinction, are the proud victors in battle against their enemy.

Reading the Book of Esther today, on the holiday of Purim, one is reminded of this topsy-turvy quality of life. Indeed one of the consistent themes in the ancient story is the concept of v'nehapach hu, loosely translated as inside out and upside down. Events in the narrative take dramatic turns at a dizzying pace, and people's fortunes rise and fall just as quickly.

Such frenetic change seems to be taking place all around us today in our age of multitasking and 24/7 news cycles, but Purim reminds us that our experiences are not unique

Those are only a few of the twists of the story that still delights us for its dramatic pacing and poetic justice. For me, reading how Haman responds to the king's request for suggestions on how best to pay tribute to a man of distinction — thinking he is the intended honoree — always evokes a smile. Haman proposes an elaborate parade, and the king agrees; we can only imagine Haman's expression when he learns the intended recipient of royal gratitude is none other than Mordechai — surely it is a look of shock topped only by the moment Esther reveals to him, and the king who adores her, that she is Jewish and that Haman is planning to kill her and her people. The king acts swiftly, and Haman is gone forever.


Ah, sweet revenge.


Another memorable passage from Esther blends a message of faith, fate and responsibility, reminding us that none of us is indispensable, no matter how much power we wield. When Mordechai asks Esther, as queen, to put her life on the line to save her people, he notes, in effect: Don't think you will escape the fate of the Jews if you remain in the palace; if necessary our salvation will come from elsewhere. And perhaps you were chosen queen for this very task.


The fact that Esther is the only book in the Bible that does not contain G-d's name is meant to remind us that His presence and involvement is always with us, whether we recognize it or not.


Purim is that one day a year we get to act out of character, literally. We dress up in costumes, hiding our true appearance. We are permitted to poke fun, even of our rabbis and teachers. And according to tradition, one should imbibe to the point of not knowing the difference between Haman the Wicked and Mordechai the Good — though one would hope this mitzvah (religious duty) would be taken more figuratively than literally, especially when applied to young people.


Still, when else in our age of political correctness do we get the chance to loosen our inhibitions, to vent our frustration at enemies the way we do when we stomp our feet and twirl our groggers at every mention of Haman's name in the reading of Esther?


Purim is an annual day of catharsis, healthy for the mind and soul. It can be a time for reflection as well. Part of the concept of v'nehapech hu is to look at things from a different perspective, to go inside ourselves and question and challenge our assumptions so that we emerge with fresh insights.


Surely Purim teaches us the need for balance in our lives: Go crazy for a day, but come back recharged to fulfill the tasks required of us. Appreciate that life can change in an instant — as it did for the characters in the Megillah and continues to do so today — and make sure the people we love know how we feel about them, every day.


One of my favorite stories is of the wise king who had a ring inscribed with three words to maintain his emotional equilibrium, reminding him not to gloat when life was sweet and to avoid despair when he was unhappy: "Gam zeh ya'avor," it read, "This, too, shall pass."


It's a timely lesson this week for those brought low, be it a former governor or Wall Street tycoon or child in a Sderot bomb shelter. And it's a marker for those tempted to revel in the humiliation of others. This, too, shall pass.


This Purim let us join in common cause for the safekeeping of our people, wherever they are, so that we may be blessed to have future generations say of us, as is said of those in Shushan: "For the Jews there was light and happiness, joy and glory."


Happy Purim.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Gary Rosenblatt is editor and publisher of The Jewish Week of New York, the largest Jewish newspaper in America




© 2008, NY Jewish Week