Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 3, 2008 / 26 Adar I 5768

Late-life divorce leaves woman stranded

By Jan L. Warner & Jan Collins


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: At 71, I never expected my 69-year-old husband to pull up stakes and leave me for another woman, but it happened. We were relatively financially comfortable with our two pensions, two Social Security incomes and other savings; however, all of that is being turned upside down. He wants to sell our home, but with the real estate market as it is, I think we will both be losing, and I can't afford to buy out his half interest.

I have interviewed several lawyers but can't seem to find one I think can help me through this difficult time. Most of my family lives quite a distance away, and our children say they don't want to get involved in this mess because they don't want to alienate either of us. Before this happened, I often thought how difficult it would be for me to live alone should my husband die before me; however, the prospect of the future under these circumstances seems very bleak, indeed. Any suggestions?

A: According to some studies, more older Americans are seeing their long-term relationships crumble after 40, 50 and even 60 years of marriage. Generally, in these situations, both husband and wife have long passed their peak earning years and will have little opportunity to acquire more assets or retirement in the future.

Coupled with the decline in the real estate market, the risk of the stock market and the rising costs of goods and services as juxtaposed against incomes that are not keeping up with inflation, it's not a pretty picture for younger people and could well be a financial catastrophe for seniors.

For example, unless you get very lucky, putting your home on the market today will most probably result in a long sales cycle and reduced price, especially if you have an older home that needs renovation or sprucing up. And, assuming you are able to sell, half the equity won't buy either of you what you have now. While renting may be an option, the change in lifestyle and what some describe as a lack of privacy could well result in depression and melancholy that sometimes accompanies living alone.

As you have undoubtedly read, your future and that of your husband may well be affected by the significant financial exposures associated with long-term care, the shifting of health care expenses to seniors and related issues. While we don't know your precise financial situations and incomes, it appears that there will not be enough to allow you both to enjoy whatever lifestyle you previously enjoyed, and the cost of long-term care insurance appears to be beyond your reach.

In addition, it is more likely than not that neither of you has sufficient life insurance — if any at all — to do much planning. You both will have to update your wills, durable powers of attorney for financial purposes and advance health care directives.

While wealthier people can afford long-term care in a nursing facility, middle-income families will continue to be financially stretched to cover the costs of this care, particularly since people are living longer and governmental benefits are shrinking. When compared to annual inflation, the costs of medical care, prescriptions and Medicare supplements have been increasing at a much higher rate. Therefore, if you intend to engage in any type of long-term care planning, now would be that time; however, as you describe your situation, it would appear that if you live long enough and require nursing-home care, you may both find yourselves on the Medicaid rolls.

To save money, you could start looking at Medicare options, but we would not suggest you do so without a thorough investigation because, in some instances, a switch to save premiums may result in less coverage and greater financial exposure.

Bottom line: It won't be a pretty picture, we're afraid, but there is little you can do about it other than plan as best you can under the circumstances.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JAN L. WARNER received his A.B. and J.D. degrees from the University of South Carolina and earned a Master of Legal Letters (L.L.M.) in Taxation from the Emory University School of Law in Atlanta, Georgia. He is a frequent lecturer at legal education and public information programs throughout the United States. His articles have been published in national and state legal publications. Jan Collins began co-authoring Flying SoloŽ in 1989. She has more than 27 years of experience as a journalist, writer, and editor. To comment or ask a question, please click here.

Archives

© 2008, Jan Warner

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles