Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 20, 2006 / 20 Adar, 5766

Booming with my David Cassidy hair

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Baby Boomers are turning 60 now, and I can't take it anymore.


I'm 43, at the tail end of the Baby Boom, and I'm sick and tired of the boomers imposing their trends, their ideas and their fashions on me. I'm still particularly sore over the David Cassidy haircut my sisters made me get in 1973.


As it went, my sisters, who had a habit of treating me like their personal Ken doll, demanded I get my hair cut like Cassidy. They exploited one of my chief insecurities to get me to do it.


"If you part your hair down the middle and feather it over the sides, you'll be able to hide your big floppy ears," they said.


And so it was that I did the unthinkable. One Saturday afternoon, I pedaled my bike three miles to the unisex hair salon. I approached the salon's owner, a cranky middle-aged women with a cigarette dangling from her lip. I pulled out crumpled bills and a pile of change and set it on the counter.


"Make me look like David Cassidy," I said.


She clipped and she cut, she styled and she set. She applied goops and sprays of every kind. Little did I know that I, an 11-year-old kid, fired the first shot across the bow of the metrosexual male movement that day.


When she finished, she turned the chair around to show me her work. I was horrified by what I saw. I didn't look like David Cassidy. I looked like Danny Bonaduce.


I jumped on my bike and pedaled home as fast as I could. I hid in my room the rest of the day, but had to finally come out when the Big Guy called me down for supper. I took my seat to his right, praying he wouldn't notice my hair.


But he sensed something was off. As he chomped his burger and washed it down with man-sized gulps of Pabst Blue Ribbon, he kept looking over to me. He had the puzzled look of a dog trying to do calculus.


"What the hell happened to your hair?" he said.


"Got it cut."


"But it's parted down the middle."


"Yes."


"Who the hell parts hair down the middle?"


"The unisex hair salon."


"The uni-what?"


"They cut hair for both sexes."


"But it's parted down the middle."


That haircut was as painful for the Big Guy as it was for me. Our suffering had a common source: Baby Boomers.


Since the first boomer was born in 1946, boomers have been setting the pace. They've foisted their politics, their music and their clothing on the rest of us. Now that they're turning 60, they're trying to do it again.


Well, nuts to that.


According to social scientist Jonathan Pontell, I have my own generation now. I wrote about him in 2004 when he argued that tail-end boomers — the 53 million Americans born between 1954 and 1965 — are not Baby Boomers after all.


To be sure, Generation Jones is more conservative and practical than the idealistic, self-centered boomers. Boomers overwhelmingly supported Kerry, but we overwhelmingly supported Bush.


We voted for Bush not because we liked him, but because we knew it would really agitate boomers. Boy, has he turned out to be the gift that keeps on giving.


And now that boomers are turning 60, we have another message. We don't care. We don't want to hear about your anti-aging trends or your miracle supplements or any nonsense about 60 being the new 40.


Your run is over, my friends. You're tired and old, and your ability to influence America is over.


In fact, to celebrate my newfound independence, I changed my hair style a few years ago. I told the hairdresser to do something simple. She cut it short and combed it straight back.


When she spun my chair around to show me her work, I was shocked by what I saw. I looked like Eddie Munster.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles