Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 6, 2006 / 6 Adar, 5766

Learning from pain

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've been hobbling around on crutches for three weeks, my left leg in a cast, and it's the best thing that's happened to me in a while.


I finally got permission to drive this week, but because both my car and truck have clutches, which I'd need to work with this boot on my left leg, I was afraid I'd not be able to drive either one.


Suddenly, the most valuable car on the road was any car with an automatic transmission. I went to bed at night dreaming of 1976 AMC Pacers and 1972 Chevy Novas and any other car I could buy for $500 just so I could get around.


When we are deprived of things we took for granted, we remember how valuable those things are.


Take 9/11. Until then, America was having a grand old time. Aside from our stock portfolios, we didn't worry about much. We came and went as we pleased, never really remembering that some people want to injure us.


I remember the week we were injured. I went to Mass at St. Joseph's in Alexandria, Va. The place was packed to the walls and nobody wanted to leave. We had a clear view of evil earlier that week, a clear reminder that evil is alive and well in the world, as it always has been, and that we must band together to defeat it.


That's the benefit of injury. It brings us back to our senses. It brings out the best in us.


As I hobble into coffee shops, it's amazing how people jump up to hold the door or offer to carry a tray. I'm not that much of a basket case, but my little injury brings out compassion in strangers.


Injury forces us to do things we wouldn't do otherwise. When I was unable to drive, I had to rely on my father to taxi me about. For two weeks, we talked about all kinds of things, about the old days, his mom, stories that I want to know. My limitations forced me to do something I don't do enough: spend time with my parents.


Injury has produced some great generations in America. The World War II generation was as young and carefree as any generation was, and then the Japanese injured us. Suddenly, young men and women were forced to grow up fast and sacrifice for their country. That sacrifice produced some of the finest people this country has ever known.


My parents came from another fine generation, the Silent Generation. They married young and sacrificed for their children. My father told me he gets embarrassed when I talk about him, because he didn't do anything unique. Most everybody we knew was doing the same for their kids, but that is what was great about that time.


I think part of the reason their generation was so decent had to do with the Cold War. In the back of everyone's mind, there was a sense that nuclear war could break out, that the horrors of Hiroshima could happen anywhere in America. The threat of injury kept us focused and humble and virtuous.


I wish we didn't need injury in order to be brought back to our senses, but most of us do. The trick is to think like an injured person — to see our blessings clearly — while we are still well.


Following 9/11 we were unified, focused and determined for a while, but that was four years ago. We have lost focus again.


We have forgotten that a house divided soon falls, that, unfortunately, we can't negotiate with the people who injured us, and that we must defeat them or they will surely injure us again.


Injury is only good if you learn from it, but I'm not sure we are. Personally I prefer injuries that are four years old over the spectacular new ones that somebody may be planning as you read this.


The best injuries are always the ones in the past, and I sure hope we can keep it that way.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles