Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 2, 2006 / 2 Adar, 5766

Deadly farce: Killing each other and blaming US

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Bush administration tells us that the ethnic and religious groups in Iraq are not yet involved in a civil war. The New York Times reported, "Peter W. Rodman, the assistant secretary of defense for international security affairs, said this week's violence was the biggest sectarian test for the Iraqis since a car bombing at a Shiite shrine at Najaf in August 2003; in that attack, at least 80 people were killed, including Ayatollah Muhammad Bakr al-Hakim, the most prominent Shiite cleric cooperating with American military forces. 'What the extremists are trying to do is to foment civil war,' Mr. Rodman said. 'But we don't see it. We don't see them succeeding.'" He needs glasses.


Thousands of Iraqis, primarily Shiites, have been killed over the last two years, many by suicide bombers and car bombs. The media has begun reporting on paramilitary death squads that have targeted Sunnis.


Now, in apparent reprisal for last week's explosion at one of the holiest Shiite mosques — the gold-domed mosque in Samarra — at least 379 Iraqis have been killed, many of them taken from their homes or off buses and summarily executed in the streets. If this isn't a civil war, what is it? To date, we have lost 2,296 American soldiers with 16,825 wounded, many grievously injured.


In addition to the ongoing civil war between Sunnis and Shiites, Shiites and Sunnis are waging war against U.S. forces


Almost every political figure in Iraq publicly attacks the U.S. presence, demanding we set a timetable to exit. In private, however, they make sure we know they don't want us to leave immediately, but sometime in the future, like maybe two years from now. Meanwhile, the Iraqi factions all blame U.S. forces for not protecting them from other Iraqi factions.


Imagine the reaction if American soldiers fired on Sunni or Shiite mobs in the streets of Iraq's cities that are bent on killing one another. While they have no hesitation about killing one another and destroying each other's mosques, woe unto us if we were to try to stop the carnage by, for example, firing on a mob advancing on a mosque or a private home intending to destroy it and those living or praying there.


According to The New York times, President Bush continues to state, "Our strategy in Iraq is that as the Iraqis stand up, we'll stand down." But the Iraqis are not standing up and based on a just-released Pentagon report entitled "Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq," "53 Iraqi battalions were able to take the lead in place of Americans in the battle against terrorists and insurgents, up from 36 three months ago. A battalion in Iraq varies in size, but usually has from several hundred to 750 troops. But while at least one battalion was said three months ago to have the ability to operate wholly independently of American forces, that number has fallen to zero."


That's progress? These Iraqi forces have been training for years. Marines are ready for combat in Iraq after 16 weeks of basic training. Is it possible that Iraqi soldiers prefer American soldiers to do the dangerous combat work?


We are more likely to see Godot before we see Iraqi soldiers prepared to engage in combat on their own. The most shocking aspect of the report is that "Pentagon officials say the new statistics are more in line with the realities of the battlefield, where even some of the foreign countries [our allies] that supply troops to Iraq cannot function without American support."


Most of our NATO allies refuse to join the war effort. Of the few who do, apparently some can't even function on their own in combat. And we are planning, according to Pentagon statements, to reduce our forces, relying on Iraqi forces? We should get out now, unless our NATO and regional allies agree to share the burdens with us. They know that if we leave, the civil war will spread and endanger their countries and interests. Then they will be forced to come in and we won't be there.


U.S. State Department spokesman, Adam Ereli, according to the Times, recently said about Iraq, "Rather than see a collapse or a setback, I think in some ways, you can see an affirmation that the approach we've been taking has worked. You've got political leadership acting together on behalf of the common good, and you've got security forces demonstrating that capability and a responsibility as a national entity that we've been working to develop and that has now bee put to the test and, I think, is proving successful."


Adding to the misinformation coming from the White House, The Times reported the following, "Top aides at the White House, the Pentagon and the State Department all expressed the hope that the new violence did not portend civil war in Iraq. They found it in evidence that all sides were appealing for restraint, even the firebrand Moktada al-Sadr in Baghdad."


What are these guys smoking?


Remember, Moktada's militias are regularly killing Sunnis while they are targeting American soldiers as occupiers, and the Sunnis, rather than appreciating our efforts to protect them and bring them into the national government, are denouncing us and seeking every day to blow up our soldiers on the roads with IEDs (improvised explosive devices). If it weren't all so deadly and harmful to the U.S. and our national interests, particularly as regards our ability to confront an even more dangerous Iran, one would think this is a farce. Only this is deadly stuff.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2006, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles