Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 18, 2005 / 7 Adar II, 5765

Pumped up for Opening Day

By Pat Sajak


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Anyone who has seen me spin that heavy, giant wheel on television knows that I'm not a steroid user. (Frankly, I have my doubts about Trebek, but that's another matter.) On the other hand, it has been obvious to anyone who has paid attention to Major League Baseball over the past decade or so that there have been plenty of players who have resorted to artificial means to enhance their performances. Now, of course, to paraphrase "Casablanca's" Captain Renault, we are shocked — shocked — to learn that steroid use has been rampant in our National Pastime.


I don't mean to make light of the matter given the health risks to the athletes and the fact that young people who try to emulate them may be tempted to travel the same road. Those issues should be, and are being, addressed by the game. However, I'm not as upset as many baseball fans appear to be about the so-called integrity of the game. Spitballs, corked bats, sign stealing, Pete Rose. What integrity? After all, this is not a game where you're likely to see a second baseman say, "Excuse me, Mr. Umpire, but I actually missed tagging the runner, so you were wrong to call him 'out'"


As for the sanctity of the record book, since when has the playing field been level? The only consistency over the years has been the inconsistency. We've seen the dead ball era and the juiced ball era. The mounds have been raised and lowered, fences have been pulled in and pushed back, the season's length has been altered, and wartime rosters have been decimated to a point where even the terrible St. Louis Browns were able to make a 1944 World Series appearance.


We also don't need any asterisks in the record book. Who gets those marks of shame? Those suspected of steroid use? Those who admit to it? Anyone Jose Canseco points to? The fact is that, rightly or wrongly, all of the offensive records attained during what will become known as baseball's "Steroid Era" will have an assumed asterisk next to them, and that imaginary mark will affect things such as who gets into the Hall of Fame. Will some players be unfairly tainted? I suppose so. But I don't think it's all that tough to figure out who the cheaters are. (Hint: look for someone with 20-50 pounds of additional upper body weight from one season to the next whose home run total goes from, say, 15 to 45.)


Most of all, however, Congress needs to stay out of this. Don't forget, this is a body that has helped to craft most of today's national drug policies, and we all know how successful they have been. Health effects aside, I don't know why keeping a sport drug-free is any concern of a bunch of elected officials. I certainly think they should be sure that airline pilots are drug-free. Policemen, because they're toting guns, should also be clear of mind. In fact, I'm more concerned about members of Congress being drug-free than I am about members of the Yankees or Giants.


Congress, I'm afraid, cannot resist the temptation. Network television "face time" is too powerful a drug for these folks to "just say no". Henry Waxman, the meek-looking Democratic Congressman from California, whom I suspect was bullied a lot as a kid, has made a career of turning the tables on big-shot businessmen who probably never chose him for the school team. Now he and others get another chance to show how tough they are (and maybe get a few autographs while they're at it).


So Congress is having its hearings, players will deny or confess, tongues will wag, random testing and the microscope of publicity will force a cutback in the use of illegal substances, records from this era will be debated, and the game will go on.


For goodness sake, Play Ball!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Pat Sajak's column by clicking here.

JWR contributor Pat Sajak is the recipient of three Emmys, a Peoplesí Choice Award and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He's currently the host of Wheel of Fortune. To visit his website, please here.



03/14/05: Dunces in the White House



© 2005, Pat Sajak