Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 17, 2005 / 6 Adar II, 5765

Designer Social Security lets people control their futures

By Dick Morris


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Bush has to answer the question all of America is asking: How are we going to pay for his privatization proposal and for the current expected deficit in the Social Security system?

Until or unless he answers this key question, Democrats will be able to paint in their own scenarios, scaring America and terrifying the elderly. Only by filling in the dots can he stop the Democrats from selling the worst-case scenario to America.

The key to cutting this knot is to let Americans make their own individual choices. We are adults. We know the system is in trouble. We realize that Social Security is short of money and have all heard that the passing of the baby-boomer generation into retirement will impose financial stresses on the system.

So level with us. Tell us the truth, and let us decide what we want to do.

Americans each make financial decisions that affect their futures. We are accustomed to balancing the costs and benefits of various options in our lives. Let us do it now.

Social Security — and our retirement — is a very intimate and private question. We have very precise ideas of our needs and estimates of our earning capacities. Any legislated solution will leave most people unsatisfied and many scared to death. The key is to leave the decision making to us. Legislate choices.

We need people to understand that the current 12.4 percent rate of taxes on the current base of $90,000 of income will not permit future retirees to enjoy the benefit levels now mandated under current law. So let people design their own packages based on their own wants and needs.

Bush should propose a series of options to the American people: When do you want to retire? Sixty-two or later? What year? Pick a year. And how much do you want in benefits when you do retire? Two thousand dollars per month? One thousand five hundred? Two thousand five hundred? Adjusted for inflation of course. Pick it out. Do you want the private investment option? For how much of your tax payments (up to the 4 percent ceiling).

Then we'll figure out how much the program you designed will cost and what your taxes need to be. Too high? OK, choose a lower cost option. It's up to you.

Donate to JWR


The principle of involuntary coverage by Social Security is necessary to spread the risk of social insurance among the entire population, to have a wide tax base and to assure that we will not have a lot of destitute elderly people on our hands in the future. But even within the confines of a mandatory system, there can be choices and options.

By giving us the power to make decisions about our Social Security benefit levels, tax payments and retirement ages, Bush does not incur the political wrath he would get if he tried to make those decisions for us. He will be treating us like adults who can make judgments rather than children who have to have the decisions made for them.

Bush has already recognized the need for choice by proposing to make private investment optional and to leave up to us how we want to invest the funds. Embedded in this principle is the key to surviving this debate and emerging with a good Social Security package.

A choice-laden option leaves the Democrats saying that we are not qualified to make our own decisions. It puts them in a politically impossible situation. Jamming a solution down our throats — or avoiding the hard decisions by talking only about privatization — gives the president's opponents too many ways to attack his proposals and kill them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Dick Morris is author, most recently, of "Because He Could". (ClickHERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.



Dick Morris Archives


© 2005, Dick Morris