Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 10, 2005 / 28 Adar I, 5765

And you went to Yale?

By Lori Gottlieb


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

The author interviews applicants in Los Angeles for her alma mater, but finds herself being more concerned about making a good impression than the other way around


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I can't decide what to wear for the Yale interview. I try on black trousers, a suede skirt, then decide on trendy jeans with a tweed blazer. I want to look stylish but not light-weight. My necklace from India might add some gravitas. I cover a zit with makeup, head for the door, and grab my NRDC backpack to show I care about the environment.


I should mention that I'm the interviewer, not the interviewee. But I still need to make a good impression. As an alumni representative, I want my candidates to like Yale.


Okay, that's not true. Actually, I want them to like me. Frankly, my interviewees make me feel like a loser. It's not just their 4.2 GPAs and 1600 SAT scores. It's that at 17, these kids are savvy, sophisticated and most intimidating of all, undeniably hip. They're too cool to use the word "cool." At my Yale interview, I wore pearls and a bright pink business suit that made me look like a wannabe network newscaster. I said "Wow!" and "No way!" and "Awesome" and talked about the math team, chess team, and Academic Decathlon.


But these kids dress like the cast of the "The O.C.," used words like "sommelier," and have the social skills of Hollywood's smoothest studio executives. When I called one applicant to schedule an interview, she replied with an email from her Blackberry: "Lovely to hear from you. Let's schedule a meeting. Wanna do dinner?"


Today's candidates are half as old twice as wordly as I am - an unnerving combination. Their references go over my head. When they talk about music and literature, I nod and pretend to get it. I make mental notes to stop at Borders on the way home and pick a CD of Maroon 5 and the complete works of James Joyce. I contemplate preparing for my next interview by subscribing to Harper's and skimming the Cliff's Notes to Dostoevsky.


As a masochistic gesture, sometimes I ask applicants how they see their lives at my age. They invariably offer some rendition on a spouse, kids, and a law, medical or business degree - if not all three. One talked of doing international peace work in Malawi (wherever that is) and another hoped to do groundbreaking research on Fuschian groups (whatever those are).


I, on the other hand, am a single medical school drop-out who recently began scouring online sperm banks for a donor. As one candidate elaborated on her resume - something about having her play produced in French "for fun" - I wondered what she'd say if she knew my life's resume. I imagined her giving me a puzzled look that implied, "And you went to Yale?"


But when we said goodbye, she surprised me. "Hey, I Googled you, and I think your work is really impressive." I couldn't believe it. Was this her way of calling me "cool"?


"Wow, no way, that's awesome!" I said, only to see that look on her face: And you went to Yale?

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes stories that will leave you smiling. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Lori Gottlieb is the author of the national bestselling memoir, "Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self", an American Library Association "Best Books 2001" selection that has been optioned for film by Martin Scorsese. A commentator for NPR's "All Things Considered" and singles columnist for The Jewish Journal of Los Angeles, her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, Time, People, Elle, Glamour, Slate, and Salon, among many others. She is also author of the irreverent exposť "Inside the Cult of Kibu". She lives in Los Angeles where she also writes for television, most recently on the NBC/Bravo sitcom "Significant Others." Visit her website at www.lorigottlieb.com.


Donate to JWR






© 2005, Lori Gottlieb. This essay first appeared on "All Things Considered"