Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

How to stay warm deliciously and nutritiously

By Lisa Abraham




JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) I'm almost afraid to ask "How cold can it get?" for fear that Mother Nature will show me.

Like everyone else, I'm trying to stay warm.

When I was growing up, there was a commercial on television for Cream of Wheat that showed a bowl of the hot cereal floating behind a child all day. I've tried to find it online with no luck, or I would have posted a link.

The commercial showed the boy playing in the snow with the cereal bowl hovering close behind. The point of the ad was that the cereal would follow and protect your child all day long, like the guardian angel of grain (although the image was certainly more UFO than heavenly).

But thinking about it got me wondering whether there's something I should be eating that would help to keep me warm all day. Some foods are considered thermogenic — ones that will help our bodies generate heat. But will they keep us warm?

It was a question for someone with a better science background than mine, so I had an interesting chat with Kristin Kirkpatrick, manager of wellness nutrition services at the Cleveland Clinic Wellness Institute.

She explained that while the effects of any foods that will warm us up will be short-lived, there are plenty of things we can eat to rev up our metabolism, and that's where thermogenic foods play their part.

The thermic effect of food is essentially how much your body has to work in order to process that food, Kirkpatrick said.

Thermogenic foods are metabolism boosters. When our metabolism is at its peak, our bodies are actually working harder, and we are warmer as a result. Think of it like exercise for your internal system.

"Metabolism is your fire; we talk in terms of keeping your fire burning," Kirkpatrick explained.

Because the thermic effect of any food will be short-lived, the key is to continue to eat metabolism boosters throughout the day to keep our fires burning.


So what foods are we talking about?

—This seems like a no-brainer, but warm liquids, of course. Kirkpatrick said to think about standing outside in the cold and taking a sip of hot chocolate. We can feel the warmth go through our bodies, literally warming us up. Soup is a natural go-to at this time of year, as well as warm beverages like tea, especially green tea, and even coffee.

While soup will only make you feel warm for a short time, coffee and tea have caffeine, which is a natural metabolism booster, she said. Kirkpatrick said studies show that green tea is particularly effective in speeding up our metabolism.

—Eat whole foods, not processed foods, to keep your fire burning.

Studies have shown that processed foods actually slow down metabolism, while whole foods keep it going. Whole foods have a lot of fiber, which takes more energy to break down.

So think in terms of whole grains. For breakfast, opt for whole grains over processed ones (say, oatmeal instead of Froot Loops). For sandwiches, choose 100 percent whole grain bread over processed white bread.

—Eat foods high in iron. Kirkpatrick said studies show that folks who are iron-deficient have lower metabolisms, so getting iron naturally through foods, not though supplements, is a great booster. Spinach, lentils, and tofu are good sources of iron. (So is that iron-fortified Cream of Wheat that's hovering around.) Yes, red meat is iron-rich, but it's also a great way to pack on the pounds, so if you do choose red meat, enjoy lean cuts in moderation, Kirkpatrick said.

—Eat foods high in protein.

Consider having eggs for breakfast. Not only are they protein-packed, but they help make us feel satisfied and ward off cravings throughout the day. For snacks, nuts are another great source of protein, and they're also a whole food.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Kirkpatrick noted that cravings are particularly difficult in the winter, because we tend to want heavy, calorie-laden foods that aren't always the most healthful choices. So eggs for breakfast may make you skip the big bowl of mac and cheese later on.

—Just eating breakfast is one of the best ways to rev up your metabolism.

"People who consume breakfast tend to have a higher metabolism. You really need to jump-start your system when you wake up. It's such a cliched comparison, but compare your body to a car. Our bodies work hard to keep us alive. When we wake up, our car is on empty. You wouldn't think of not filling the tank because that car would putter. But we do it with our bodies all the time," Kirkpatrick said.

—Finally, keep hydrated to keep your metabolism at its peak. Many folks don't drink water in the winter the way they do in the warmer months, but being dehydrated is a sure way to slow down your metabolism.

In addition to drinking water, Kirkpatrick said eating foods that are high in water, like spinach and watermelon, will help us stay hydrated. Also, avoid alcoholic beverages, which are dehydrating.

—There's another benefit to keeping our metabolism charged up — we'll burn more calories. That means we may exit winter and discover we've actually lost five pounds, not gained them.

That thought alone is enough to warm the heart.

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring reading material that will uplift you. Sign up today for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.


© 2014, Akron Beacon Journal Distributed by MCT Information Services



Quantcast