Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 19, 2014 / 19 Adar I, 5774

We're not forgetful, we just know too much

By Ana Veciana-Suarez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once upon a time, I could claim the small honor of being a veritable walking, talking phone book. Offer up a friend's name and I could spit out a number with the precision of an adding machine. Tucked in the folded recesses of my brain were also addresses, birth dates and assorted trivia.

That, of course, was before the advent of cell phones. Once that electronic tether came into existence, my brain, or at least my memory, went into a state of suspended animation. With speed dial, I had no need to memorize a string of numbers.

Smart phones made life even easier. I didn't even have to remember birthdays. A reminder popped up on the screen to jog the old noggin. Same thing for meetings and dinner dates.

In fact, I am now so dependent on chips and circuitry that I have alerts to remind me to follow up on conversations with my grown children. Two examples that pinged into my consciousness just yesterday: "Ask L. re: exercising" and "N - apt. sublet?"

As a result, my memory isn't what it used to be, and this stutter comes at a time when I'm supposed to be able to remember megabytes of data from my years on the planet.

The Hubby likes to say that he forgets more in one day than our grandchildren can remember in a week. He has a point. We've done a lot of living, and with all that living comes millions of experiences, tons of facts and countless figures, all stockpiled in the warehouse between our ears. Just trying to remember the names of former classmates, the food preferences of my burgeoning family and all my PIN numbers and passwords is enough to frazzle me. This is probably true for a lot of people.


Last month, my aforementioned son -- the one with the college "apt. sublet" issue, the one who has mastered the art of selective forgetting (hmmm) -- sent me a link to a National Geographic article titled "An Aging Brain is Still Pretty Smart." The implication being, of course, that I, and others of a certain age, can be retrained and rehabilitated. Rebooted.

In case you missed the breakthrough study cited in this piece (or simply forgot it, and who can blame you) let me summarize it in one word: vindication.

Researchers in Germany say a study of memory recall in older people suggests that aging brains don't really lose cognitive horsepower. They simply function slower because they have an increasing amount of information to sort through.

The team of scientists from Tubingen University fed computer models small amounts of information each day, similar to our own gathering of material. As the devices collected more information, they were slower to retrieve it -- mirroring what happens as we humans grow older.

"The brains of older people do not get weak," said lead researcher Michael Ramscar. "On the contrary, they simply know more."

I want to send that quote, underlined and bold-faced, to certain people, people who've been impatient and condescending and a trifle arrogant with me. (You know who you are.) I'd better do it quickly, though, before it sinks into the quirky quicksand that has claimed the name of an old teacher, the working title of my first book and the fourth item on my grocery list.

And just to be on the safe side, I'm also ordering a set of brain games and teasers. That should offset the crutch of pinging alerts and reminders provided by that whatchamacallit.

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:


Why didn't I think of that? Another missed opportunity for invention

When being fair is really not, and other life lessons

Bridging the Generation Gap Has Gone Too Far


Ana Veciana-Suarez is a family columnist for The Miami Herald



© 2014, The Miami Herald Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast