Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 6, 2014 / 6 Adar I, 5774

Meeting your doppelganger through misfired emails

By Mary Schmich



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I, mschmich, am a 27-year-old Brazilian.

That may not be the me you know, but hang on. There's more.

Now that I've given up my job in information technology, I'm doing what I've always dreamed of doing, working with horses. I love cats, too, and keep six at my home, which, it also may surprise you to learn, is in Sao Paulo.

OK, so I am not that person at all, but even some of my best friends don't seem to know it.

For a couple of years, I've recently learned, people have been sending emails meant for me to the person described above. Her name is Monika Schmich.

Five thousand miles from Chicago, poor Monika has received condolences on my brother's death, assorted journalism news and notifications of rehearsal times for a holiday singalong at Chicago's Old Town School of Folk Music.

After searching on the Internet for who and where I might be, she wrote recently to tell me of our twin life.

"I'm just afraid you might miss something because of this misunderstanding," she wrote with a graciousness that makes me proud to share "mschmich" with her.

Many people have email doppelgangers, and some of the unintended recipients are as courteous as Monika.

Dragana Djordjevic-Laky, of Highland Park, Ill., recounts how once, with one missed letter in an email address, she mistakenly invited an elderly gentleman from California to her daughter's birthday party. He RSVP'd by phone. He said he often got emails for the intended recipient. He declined the party invitation.

On the other hand, not all unintended recipients are so accommodating.

"A Polly Bruno (in another state) informed me, rather testily, that she was getting email meant for me and that I should inform everyone I knew so it didn't happen again," reports Polly Bruno, of Chicago.

The wayward email is the modern equivalent of the wrong number. Sometimes it's caused by a slip of the fingers, other times by a misplaced assumption.

I understand why in a world short on Schmichs people might assume that my personal email name would be mschmich. That is the name I use for my work email, but it's not my personal email name -- it's Monika's.

Maria Brown Gray, also of Chicago, uses her last name first in her address, a fact her sister had trouble remembering.

"Some poor Maria Gray somewhere in the U.K.," says Chicago's Maria Gray, "has been included in very long exchanges with our sisters and cousins of details of our late mother's health problems and another family member's severe alcohol problems. She finally wrote my sister and said that she had her own family problems and really didn't need to hear about ours."

But good luck getting rid of misdirected emails. They're as hard to eliminate as cockroaches.

"Someone accidentally put me on their family's email list," says Chicagoan Heather Lalley, "so I kept getting forwarded lame jokes and birthday reminders meant for another Heather Lalley."

Chicago's Heather Lalley has repeatedly notified the sender of the error. He has apologized. The jokes and reminders still come.

My nephew's wife, Kristen Stedenfeld, took a different approach with one misguided emailer.

"For a while," Kristen says, "a middle-aged man from Seattle was emailing me, thinking (I think) that I was a distant cousin of my dad's. I thought his forwarded jokes were kind of funny, so I never bothered to correct him."



Occasionally, the identity confusions wrought by email lead to new relationships, like the one between Chicagoan Kristi Peterson and her email doppelganger.

"Over the years," Peterson says, "she has discovered a lot about me -- from my sorority affiliation to the death of a friend to my breast cancer diagnosis 10 years ago -- by intercepting and forwarding these emails. I finally met her last April while I was in California. It has been an oddly intimate, and often hilarious, relationship with a stranger."

Chicago singer-songwriter Sue Fink, too, has enjoyed the serendipity of a shared email identity, in this case with another singer-songwriter named Sue Fink.

"I always forward the other Sue Fink's fan mail," this Sue Fink says, "and she got one for me once (yay!) and did the same."

It's nice to like your email doppelganger, and I like mine. Monika is gracious. She has a sense of humor. And she gives me a reason during this especially frigid winter to imagine that I'm somewhere in the sunshine doing the samba.

Comment by clicking here.

Mary Schmich is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the Chicago Tribune.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

01/09/14: Another year, another time to marvel at existence

01/01/14: 2013 with rhyme but not much reason

11/28/13: There's no way to screen out the screens

11/21/13: The pursuit of privacy: I'm rebelling against the snoops

11/14/13: Travel to the places that only an older person can take you

10/24/13: Impartial adviser always ready with reality check

10/17/13: Macy's decision another case of Thanksgiving sacrilege

10/10/13: Plenty of junk mail is anything but

10/03/13: Age forcing the question: To kill or not to kill?

09/26/13: Wish, but not wanting, over Blackberry's decline

09/12/13: Incurable ignorance dooms us

09/05/13: Linda Ronstadt's loss of singing voice strikes a deep chord

08/29/13: Picking a major while clueless about where we want to go in life

08/22/13: Years later, one last letter from my mother

08/15/13: In praise of the park bench

08/08/13: Juiced-up skills hard to swallow

08/01/13: The view from above: Life in the intimate society of an airplane has improved

07/18/13: Chasing family through history: What the all knowing Internet couldn't tell me about my ancestory

07/11/13: Change is constant. So is thinking we won't change

© 2013, CHICAGO TRIBUNE DISTRIBUTED BY Tribune Media Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast