Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 4, 2014 / 4 Adar I, 5774

Woody Allen's War on Women

By Debra J. Saunders

Debra J. Saunders



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The real "war on women" isn't happening in Washington; it is happening in Hollywood and New York or wherever men such as Woody Allen and Roman Polanski sit in a director's chair and are feted as great artists and hence great men. As Elizabeth Taylor once said, "success is a great deodorant."

Over the weekend, Allen's adopted daughter, Dylan Farrow, 28, wrote an open letter that appeared on The New York Times' website. She repeated a charge she made in 1993 when she was 7, that her adoptive father "sexually assaulted" her.

Allen always has denied the charge. After an investigation, authorities did not prosecute Allen. John Leventhal, a doctor who headed the investigation, said the daughter's accusation had a "rehearsed quality," perhaps caused by the coaching of her adoptive mother, Mia Farrow. (Farrow recently had learned that Allen had begun an affair with her 19-year-old adopted daughter, Soon-Yi Farrow Previn.) As The New York Times reported at the time, Leventhal also said there was no "firm evidence" the actress had coached her child.

Prosecutor Frank Maco told the press he believed that Allen had molested his daughter, but Maco chose not to press charges to protect a child from the trauma of a trial.

Over the years, I've figured -- and I still do -- that Allen deserved the benefit of the doubt. When a man takes up with his girlfriend's teenage daughter, an act of such raw betrayal just might incite a wronged mother to instill in her daughter the belief that she has been violated.

I also stopped paying to see Allen's films at theaters because of what I knew to be true. At the age of 55, Allen began an affair with his girlfriend's 19-year-old daughter. I realized that the lovable mensch in his movies was in fact a devious, exploitative creep who cynically promoted the idea of 40-somethings dating high-school girls in his 1979 film, "Manhattan."

But after years of watching Hollywood salute Allen's genius, I wavered. It's not as if I want to conduct a litmus test on an entertainer's morality, I told myself. Whose work would be left to watch?



So last week, I was drawn to a piece in The Daily Beast, "The Woody Allen Allegations: Not So Fast," by documentary-maker Robert B. Weide. Essentially, Weide, a friend and colleague of Woody's, argued that though maybe (maybe not) it was "creepy" that Allen took up with the young Previn, who is now his wife, readers shouldn't necessarily believe Dylan Farrow's allegations. To believe the girl's story, wrote Weide, you must believe that the brainy director abused his daughter in a manner so flagrant as to invite detection.

Oh, and by the way, Weide added, Mia Farrow testified on behalf of Polanski, despite his admission to having sex with a 13-year-old in 1977, so she's a hypocrite.

I want to thank Dylan Farrow for writing about how hard it was for her to live with the fact that most people find "it easier to accept the ambiguity, to say, 'who can say what happened,' to pretend that nothing was wrong."

I still don't know what happened between the filmmaker and the little girl. But I do know I don't like the way Allen has used women. Ditto Polanski, whose career took off with the 1974 film "Chinatown," about a corrupt dirty old man whose success allowed him to sexually abuse a terrified teenager.

And I don't have to live in Chinatown.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment JWR contributor Debra J. Saunders' column by clicking here.

Debra J. Saunders Archives

© 2014, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast