Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 26, 2014 / 26 Adar I, 5774

'First Laddie Issue' could impede Hillary in 2016

By John Kass

John Kass


JewishWorldReview.com | You probably won't believe this, but I aim to help Hillary Clinton fulfill her destiny and rule the world.

But the thing is, she has a problem.

You wouldn't know it from reading or watching the news. That's because in most newsrooms across America -- and perhaps even in some place called "real life" -- the inevitability of Hillary Clinton as president is a given.

Yet even as the great tide of her inevitability swells and rises to 2016, there is an issue. Sadly, it remains hidden to most of her champions, since they're blind to her faults. But it's out there.

And I'm asking you to open your eyes to see the problem, so you can help me help Hillary.

What is this problem?

It's Bill.

Call it the Bill Problem, or the Creepo Index, or the Randy Spouse in the Henhouse Conundrum.

I'd rather simply call it the First Laddie Issue. And we must confront it without a moment's delay.

Call me facetious, and damn me as an unrepentant Clinton hater, and even bring up my old columns as evidence of my sins.

Or put me on a fence post like that turtle Hillary talked about in that strange period when she spoke with a Southern accent. I don't really care.

Do your worst.

But either way, this problem of Hillary's won't go away no matter how many times the Clintonistas raise the torch of feminism.

The Clintonistas are experts at bringing up the old war-on-women thing, and they're good at blaming the old men-just-don't-get-it crowd.

But if Hillary is elected president, then former President Bill Clinton will be the first spouse, or First Laddie. And therein lies the rub.

A few weeks ago, Sen. Rand Paul seemed to share my sympathy with Hillary's First Laddie problem. But while the Kentucky Republican's critique has been scoffed at, mocked and ridiculed by some of the more tribal Clintonistas, it has yet to be dismissed.

"The Democrats, one of their big issues is they have concocted and said Republicans are committing a war on women," Paul said on NBC's "Meet the Press." "One of the workplace laws and rules that I think are good is that bosses shouldn't prey on young interns in their office. And I think really the media seems to have given President Clinton a pass on this. He took advantage of a girl that was 20 years old and an intern in his office. There is no excuse for that, and that is predatory behavior, and it should be something we shouldn't want to associate with people who would take advantage of a young girl in his office.

"This isn't having an affair. I mean, this isn't me saying, 'Oh, he's had an affair, we shouldn't talk to him.' Someone who takes advantage of a young girl in their office? I mean, really. And then they have the gall to stand up and say Republicans are having a war on women? So, yes, I think it's a factor. Now, it's not Hillary's fault ... but it is a factor in judging Bill Clinton in history."

No doubt some Hillary supporters see Paul as an evil genius. But he just may be the genius who highlighted the problem as if he were a naturalist using a straight pin to fix a spider to a board.

And he's pointed out the main predicament: What to do about Bill?

How can the Clinton campaign speak to the aspirations of women young and old if people remember that no responsible parents would leave Bill alone with their daughter?

And what parents would put their daughter under Bill's "wing" in either the campaign or the White House?

They still eat pizzas at the White House, don't they? Have cigars been outlawed in the D.C. area?


Here are few of my First Laddie solutions:

-- A First Laddie Kilt. Let's amend the Constitution to mandate that the First Laddie -- if named William Jefferson Clinton -- will wear a tartan kilt at all times, with black knee socks and black oxford shoes. Underneath the kilt at all times will be an electric chastity belt monitored remotely by the U.S. Secret Service.

-- Matt Drudge. Save a plunge in an icy river, nothing would chill Bill's urges more than having Matt Drudge of the Drudge Report sitting right outside the First Laddie's office.

-- NSA surveillance. A tiny robot drone follows the First Laddie at all times, equipped with a camera feeding the White House situation room and Drudge's laptop. It is linked to a Taser built into the chastity belt.

-- Vice President Rahm Emanuel. The Rahmfather, when elected as Hillary's running mate, would take charge of the Laddie. Any hint of a violation would require a Polar Plunge au naturel in the Potomac.

-- Gentling. There are chemicals that I'm told will accomplish this, but that might be viewed as "too drastic."

-- Exile. My preference. What about sending the First Laddie into exile in some mountainous, semi-lawless land ruled by warlords known to provide mountains of pilaf and dancing girls to their guests?

These are but a few possible solutions to the First Laddie problem.

You're invited to send me your own suggestions by clicking here.

Remember, Hillary must fulfill her destiny. And the First Laddie must not get in the way.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

John Kass is a columnist for the Chicago Tribune. Comments by clicking here.

• Archives



© 2014, Chicago Tribune. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast