Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 17, 2014 / 17 Adar I, 5774

Thank You President Obama for Freeing Me

By Bruce Bialosky




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hi, I'm Dave.

Until recently I was a full-time employee and had a very good job.In fact most years we were so busy I worked some long hours and received some significant bonuses from my employer.But now I have been freed from having to spend so much time supporting my family.Because of some great new policies from our government, I am now working part-time and spending more time with my family.

It has been an adjustment.When I told my wife the exciting news that I would spending more time at home, initially she wasn't delighted.She sure seemed like she did not want me around.She asked how we were going to put the money away for the kids' college educations.I was a little surprised she was not more focused on the time we could spend together, working on our relationship.She seemed like she thought having me at work was more beneficial for us.Then I told her about all the neat government programs that would help the kids pay for college.Plus, I am confident we will grow closer as we have more quality time together.I did point out we may have less money to spend, but sharing time was what life was all about.

The kids were really excited to hear about me being around a lot more.Kinda.Madison asked if I really was not going to work.When I told her it would give us more time to get to know each other, she said "Dad, get real.I'm like really busy with school and my friends.Maybe soon."And then she stared at her phone and said she was having a conversation with a friend.Buddy Boy was a lot more receptive.I told him I could now learn how to play those video games and we could play together.He said, "Hey, don't you think it would be geekish for me to be playing video games with my old man?"When I told him no, he turned and closed the door to his room.I am sure once he warms up to the idea we will have a blast together.


I went on HealthCare.gov and found out that my income is now going to be lower so I qualify for some really big subsidies.As long as I don't go back to working full-time, the government will pay for over half of my family's health insurance.All I have to do is just keep my work at the current reduced level and we will have some great coverage.I can even pick up some work on the side (if you know what I mean) and not have it affect my ability to have the government pay for most all our health insurance.Once I figured it out, we are really better off with me working less and staying home more.

Then with my new free time I found a speech that Mrs. Obama gave to college students.She told them "Don't leave money on the table."This was regarding getting student aid that she told them did not have to be paid back.Pondering that I thought why not me?So I applied for Food Stamps -- thankfully now called SNAP -- and it makes me feel so much better.I was really surprised to find out that at my new income level that we qualify as a family.

The nice people at the SNAP office told me there are other state and federal programs I qualify for to help underwrite my new reduced income.For example, they will help pay for my utilities.While I was so busy working I never realized there were so many programs to help people.I have researched it and found there are over 100 programs to help pay for me.How stupid I feel working hard all these years when I could have been home and the government would pay for all these things.

As I begin my new less demanding life, I am really just beginning to explore the universe I am now part of each day.Who knew I could work so little and still get all this stuff from the government?President Obama, thank you for freeing me from the burden of having to work so hard to support my family.Now I just have to get my family used to having me around.And find something to do with my time.

I'm Dave, and I love this new America.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Bruce Bialosky is the founder of the Republican Jewish Coalition of California and a former Presidential appointee.


Previously:


02/10/14 What Jack Kennedy Wrought
02/03/14 Women Need To Have Equality
01/27/14 Our Smartest President?
01/20/14 And When I Die
01/13/14 Congressional Extortion
01/06/14 Why Obamacare Cannot Succeed
12/30/13 Why Judge Was Incorrect in NSA Case
12/09/13 The Real Reaction to Obamacare
12/09/13 How to Secure a Proper Iranian Agreement
12/03/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 2
12/02/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 1
11/25/13 Obamacare --- Big Business Gets Screwed Again
11/18/13 Shocking News: Dems Want New 'Revenues'
11/11/13 Do You Want A Nationalized Drug Industry?
11/04/13 Obamacare Schadenfreude
10/28/13 The Second Biggest Issue in America
10/21/13 The New Welfare State





© 2013, Bruce Bialosky

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast