Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 10, 2014 / 10 Adar I, 5774

Beatles still peerless in pop a half-century on

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This past week marked the 50th anniversary of the Beatles' first appearance on "The Ed Sullivan Show." There were TV specials and nostalgic articles. And if I were in my teens today, I might ask, "What's the big deal?"

It's a fair question. To you, young person, this must seem like your parents (more likely your grandparents) waxing on about something that is totally outdated, like rotary phones or customer service.

So let me explain why the Beatles actually are worth commemorating. Let's start with this: Fifty years later, their music is still better than today's.

Yep. I said it. I won't take it back. If Katy Perry wants to argue, bring it on. If Lady Gaga takes exception, I'll raise it. If Justin Bieber wants to....

Forget it. That's not even fair.

The Beatles were better. Their song construction, their melody lines, their harmonies, their lyrics, their inventiveness, their breakthrough use of symphonic instruments -- all done at a time when if you got it wrong, you had to record the whole thing again, you couldn't just fix it with a computer key -- combine to make the seven years the Beatles recorded together the richest production of pop music ever created by a group.

Ever.

The Sullivan show was a landmark, but it was really about hysteria. You barely could hear the Beatles for all the screaming girls. And, let's admit it, there has been hysteria since then. Heck, the Monkees had it at their concerts. So did the Osmonds, Jackson 5, David Cassidy, Menudo, Hanson, Boyz II Men and Bieber.

None of their music resonates the same way.

You see, young person, what the Beatles did was take their influences -- Chuck Berry, Muddy Waters, Elvis -- and morph them all into their own early sound. Songs like "From Me to You" and "Can't Buy Me Love" were bright, tight and catchy rock 'n' roll, but they were wholly different from other songs coming out. When mimic bands began popping up, the Beatles quickly moved into more significant and signature work, songs you really couldn't imagine anyone else doing. "Here, There and Everywhere." "Norwegian Wood." "Drive My Car."

Three years after the suits, ties and moptop haircuts of the Sullivan show, they were exploring corners of pop music no one had ever tried, creating thematic albums like "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" and "Magical Mystery Tour" that featured French horns and trumpets and timpani drums. Later they would bring in sitar music. Cellos. Violas. Listen to "Eleanor Rigby" -- released in 1966! -- and tell me what other artist of their time could have done that? It is complex, hardly rock 'n' roll, yet it is catchy and memorable and people around the world still sing the line, "Ahhh, look at all the lonely people," which is probably more poetic than anything Kanye West ever has written.



By '68 and '69, the Beatles were like a band on warp drive. Their progression through psychedelic to experimental has been well-documented, yet they never stopped creating rock 'n' roll ("Back in the USSR") or folk song satire ("Piggies") or cabaret-like melodies ("When I'm Sixty-Four," "Maxwell's Silver Hammer") or achingly beautiful ballads like "Blackbird" or "Something" or "Let It Be."

Honestly, if a band just recorded those last three songs, couldn't it retire?

The Beatles did all this in the seven years they recorded together. And while they never played as a foursome after 1970, people know their songs 44 years later, they can sing along with dozens -- not one -- and they are remade as often as someone gets up the courage.

I can tell you as a former musician who played in countless cover bands, you always shied away from doing Beatles tunes, because their sound was so unique, the audience inevitably found fault with your version. But the fact that so many big artists have recorded "Yesterday," "Michelle" or "And I Love Her" -- to name a few -- shows the timelessness of John Lennon's and Paul McCartney's songwriting.

How many other artists will record a Lady Gaga, Kanye West or Katy Perry hit? They won't, because those are often great records, not great songs. Technology today can make a record memorable. But it can't make it musical. Play the single notes of "Yesterday" on a piano or a guitar, it's still beautiful. Play the single notes from "Lose Yourself" by Eminem, it sounds like torture.

So we're not crazy, young person, not foolishly nostalgic, nor lost in the past. We were just blessed to have a truly great musical band to soundtrack our younger years, one that is not embarrassing to listen to today. Is that worth a small fuss 50 years later? As the Beatles might answer, yeah, yeah, yeah.




Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2013, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast