Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 6, 2013/ 26 Shevat, 5773

Ed Koch's lucky corner

By Roger Simon


Al Gore, Koch and Andrew Cuomo are shown at a press conference in 1988



JewishWorldReview.com | The mayor of New York, already rumpled-looking in his gray suit though it is only 7:30 a.m., stands on the northwest corner of 77th and Lexington under a Te-Amo Imported Cigars sign. A fringe of white hair crowns his head like a laurel wreath upon a Caesar.

"Good morning," Ed Koch booms to the knot of reporters that soon surrounds him and then begins without preamble: "I don't make predictions. I hope Al Gore does well; I put my trust in G0D. I don't know whether G0D is watching or not."

But if G0D is not watching New York, He is the only one who isn't.

It is 1988, and a few weeks earlier Jesse Jackson had won the Michigan primary. The panjandrums of the Democratic Party are in full panic. Who is going to stop Jackson? Michael Dukakis, whose campaign seems to be flabby and floundering, appears unable to do the job.

A Great White Hope is needed. Al Gore steps forward.

"I am dismayed by Jackson's embrace of Yasser Arafat," Gore tells Jewish leaders in New York City. "I categorically deny (Jackson's) notion that there's a moral equivalence between Israel and the PLO. In a Gore administration, no one will have reason to doubt America's commitment to the survival and security of Israel."


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


This goes over very well in New York City. And afterward, Gore, a southern Baptist whose favorite Shakespeare play is "The Merchant of Venice," joins the Jewish leaders at a kosher deli for lunch. The Gore campaign announces that Gore has "pulled off the gloves to challenge front-runner Jesse Jackson."

The next day, April 1, Ed Koch says Jews "would have to be crazy to vote for Jackson." The stage is set. Koch endorses Gore, the man who has the guts to kick Jesse Jackson in his tuchus (arse).

Now, on the day before the New York primary, Koch goes to 77th and Lex to show Gore how it's done, to show him how you win New York.

"I had a stroke," Koch, 63, says apropos of nothing, "and Mother Teresa prayed for me. And I'm Jewish! This is my lucky corner, you know. I've run 24 times, congressman and city council, mayor. And I come here at 7 a.m. and stand here until 8 p.m. on Election Day. I had a stroke, but I walk. I dance. I talk." He does a sprightly little walk, back and forth, pumping his elbows. "See? No paralysis."

The words gush forth from his mouth in a torrent. Thus far, he has not been asked a single question by reporters. But somehow question-and-response seem unnecessary for Koch, who is willing to provide not only the answers but also the questions.

"I am most vociferous in my criticism of Jesse Jackson," Koch goes on, "but none of my attacks have been disputed. Some people don't want the truth. You criticize a black, and you're called a racist." He shrugs. Go figure.

During an uncharacteristic pause, I wedge in a question. Hasn't the New York primary been divisive and hate-filled? I ask for a book I am doing (and from which this column is taken).

Koch screws up his face. "Oh, please," he says. "Puh-leeze. I don't see that at all."

"Lemme tell you," Koch continues. "Al Gore has the potential for greatness that Jack Kennedy had."

Al Gore? Who's he? Where's he? Oh, you mean the silent guy in the suit over there looking like the second wheel on a unicycle? The guy running for president but unable to get a word in edgewise because the mayor of New York will not shut up? Yeah, that guy.

"Dukakis is ... acceptable," Koch says through pursed lips, again in response to no question. "Acceptable. But he ..." Koch points to Gore. "He has the potential for greatness."

The "he," Gore, brightens at the mention of his name and takes a half-step forward like an actor who has been waiting in the wings and has finally heard his cue.

"He took me to deli on the Lower East Side," Gore begins. "And we had pickles. Different kinds of pickles. They were called, uh ... uh ..."

"Sours and half-sours," Koch says and then winks at the reporters as if to say: Goyim. What can you do?

"Right, right," Gore says. "I liked the half-sours better than the sours."

This being New York, where anything can happen and does on a daily basis, McGeorge Bundy, one of John Kennedy's best and brightest, and now a professor of history at New York University, innocently walks by on his way down into the subway.

Koch grabs him and demands a vote for Gore.

"I'm from Massachusetts," Bundy says, apologetically. In other words, he's for Dukakis.

Koch turns his back on him. "So? We can lose one vote," he says.

They will end up losing more than one. Dukakis will take New York by 51 percent, Jackson will get 37 percent (winning New York City in the process), and Gore will get 10 percent. But in the preceding week, Gore secretly has been calling Jesse Jackson at night and apologizing for Koch. Jackson is mollified. Gore has shown respect.

Koch is unrepentant. "You cannot show me a single sentence that wasn't legitimate and truthful," he tells reporters. And then he has a rare moment of introspection.

"Maybe I would package it better," he says.

Ed Koch died Friday at age 88. His funeral was held Monday. Some are trying to have the corner at 77th and Lexington named for him. Famous political leaders said fine things about him.

Understandably, but uncharacteristically, Ed Koch was silent.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate

Quantcast