Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Jews Can't Take Love For An Answer

By David Suissa








JewishWorldReview.com | Are you one of those Jews who got offended by Seth MacFarlane's "Jews control Hollywood" shtick at the Academy Awards last Sunday night? And do you agree with Anti-Defamation League (ADL) leader Abe Foxman's statement that MacFarlane's attempt at humor was "sad and disheartening" because it "reinforces stereotypes which legitimize anti-Semitism"?

Well, I think I can make you feel better.

First, this notion of poking fun at Jews has to be looked at in the context of the century-old love affair between Jews and America, and the role of humor in that love affair.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Until the birth of Israel, no country has been so welcoming to the Jews. After 1,900 years of feeling insecure wherever we lived - and very often persecuted - we finally found in America a haven that would protect us and give us the freedom to succeed.

And boy did we succeed, beyond anyone's dreams.

We spawned generations of successful Jews, who have left extraordinary marks on American life: prominent doctors, lawyers, business tycoons, real estate moguls, philanthropists, professors, scientists, artists, politicians, media titans and, of course, Hollywood machers.

This enormous success earned the Jews a lot of respect.

But respect doesn't necessarily mean love.

To be loved, as I recall from a psychology class in college, you need to earn respect and affection.

And who are the experts at earning affection?

Yes, those who make us laugh. The comedians.

Has any ethnic group made Americans laugh more than the Jews?

From the early days of vaudeville to Jon Stewart today - names like the Marx Brothers, George Burns, Jack Benny, Milton Berle, Sid Caesar, Neil Simon, Woody Allen, Mel Brooks, Jackie Mason, Don Rickles, Rodney Dangerfield, Lenny Bruce, Gilda Radner, Jerry Seinfeld, Larry David, Adam Sandler, Howard Stern, Ben Stiller and Sarah Silverman, just to name a few - Jewish humor has pretty much become synonymous with American humor.

Jewish comedy has come to symbolize Jewish success: We feel so free and successful that we can afford to poke fun at the world, and, especially, at ourselves.

One of the most endearing qualities you can have is the ability to poke fun at yourself. No people have poked fun at themselves and embraced humor quite like the Jews.

Humor also signifies human power. The ability to make people surrender to their laughing gene is given only to a chosen few, and the Jews have been at the head of those chosen few.

For more than a century, Jews have tickled America's funny bone. If making someone laugh is one of the most generous of all human acts, then the Jews have been the most generous of immigrants.

In fact, I have this theory that the best fighters against anti-Semitism in America have been not the Jewish activists (like the ADL), but the Jewish comedians.

Comedy disarms a lot better than press releases. A funny routine by Billy Crystal or Seinfeld poking fun at Jewish stereotypes is a lot more endearing than a press release complaining about how reinforcing Jewish stereotypes legitimizes anti-Semitism.

The well-meaning kvetching chorus in the Jewish establishment that sees anti-Semitism around every corner ought to be very careful not to turn our reputation into a people without a sense of humor.

Having a sense of humor means being able to take it, not just dish it out. Sure, I get it. Poking fun at Jewish stereotypes recalls classic anti-Semitic tropes and so on. But not all stereotypes are created equal. Being "successful in Hollywood" is a galaxy away from the blood libels of the past. And, in any event, where would comedy be without stereotypes?

If you ask me, losing our sense of humor would create a lot more anti-Semites.

And no, I don't buy the argument that "only Jews have the right to poke fun at Jews." That's a sign of weakness. The fact that a non-Jewish comedian had the cojones to poke fun at Jewish stereotypes at the Academy Awards is a compliment, not an insult. It says to the world, "I think Jews are strong enough and cool enough and funny enough to take it."

If MacFarlane was spoofing a stereotype of the American Jew as "very successful and with a great sense of humor," I'll take that any day of the week.

It's no coincidence that in a recent study by sociologists Robert Putnam and David Campbell, Americans said they had warmer feelings toward Jews than toward any other religious group.

Where do you think these warm feelings come from? From ADL press releases? No, a crucial ingredient undoubtedly has been our ability to laugh at ourselves and make others laugh. Once we lose that reputation, we'll only look weak and boring - and who would love that?

If worried leaders like Abe Foxman are looking for new targets, instead of going after comedians, they ought to check out a new study by the Henry Jackson Society that shows how the threat of Islamic terrorism is increasingly in our own backyard.

Hmm, Islamic terrorism. Now that's a strain of anti-Semitism I find has very little humor.


CLICK HERE FOR REBUTTAL

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.




David Suissa is the founder and CEO of Suissa Miller Advertising, a $300 million marketing firm named "Agency of the Year" by USA Today that attracts clients like Heinz, Dole, McDonalds, Princess Cruises, Charles Schwab and Acura. Suissa's writings on advertising have been published in several publications including the Los Angeles Times and Advertising Age. He is also a columnist for the Jewish Journal in Los Angeles.



© 2012, David Suissa

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles