Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 25, 2013/ 15 Adar 5773

The slimeballs who tell our children they are defined by the groups into which they were born rob them of tasting the sweetest fruits

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's "unfair" to be white, the University of Wisconsin-Superior is telling students. A school in suburban Denver has banned white kids from an after-school tutoring program.

These bits of pernicious idiocy set me to musing. I'm a white guy who was born a little more than 65 years ago to parents of Irish and German descent, who grew up in rural Wisconsin.

Of my race and ethnicity, I am neither proud nor ashamed. I don't think God loves whites any more than He does blacks, browns, yellows or reds, and I don't see any reason He should. I like being Irish and German (especially on St. Patrick's Day, and during Oktoberfest), but I don't think it's any better (or worse) than being Italian, or Chinese.

I'm glad to be male, but of my gender I am also neither proud nor ashamed. For many years I thought women were better than men, chiefly because my mother was a stronger, better person than my father was (even though he was a really impressive guy). After some bizarre dating experiences, I for a time believed the opposite. But I rejected that as not a useful belief.

There are obvious physiological differences, which impart advantages in particular circumstances (men are stronger, women have better fine motor skills). There are also psychological differences, which, again, impart advantages in particular circumstances (men tend to be more logical, women more empathetic). But any overall assessment of superiority/inferiority is hopelessly subjective, and counterproductive. Men and women are equal, but they are not the same.

I think it preposterous that in every culture for most of history (and in the Muslim world still today) women have been regarded as inferior; appalling that in so many women have been treated as chattel.

I'm a Christian, for which I'm extremely grateful, but not at all proud. Anyone who takes pride in being a Christian doesn't understand the program. Christ has offered you and me a gift for which I expect to be eternally grateful, but I don't pat myself on the back for having had the wit to accept it.

I am proud to be an American. Despite many flaws, the United States of America is -- aside from a birth in Bethlehem some 2000 years ago -- by far the best thing that's ever happened to this world. I realize, though, that I ought to be more thankful than proud, since I am an American by accident of birth. The people who have a right to be proud to be Americans are those who made some effort to get here and become citizens.

I want my country to be better than it is. I think it can be. We should recognize the good things about other nations, other cultures, and emulate them where appropriate. But no country is better than ours, or ever has been.

I'm also proud of being from the rural Midwest. I think we develop values that city folk, especially those on the coasts, do not. (My wife, born and reared in New York City, disputes this.)

I'm not proud of my generation, the first downwardly mobile generation in American history. We boomers were born into better circumstances than any generation before us, but we've accomplished less. We'll be remembered mostly for saddling our children and grandchildren with a mountain of debt. Social Security and Medicare work the way they do, I told my daughter, because "we're greedy and you're stupid. We'll keep stealing from you as long as you let us."

But I won't say I'm ashamed of the boomers, because it isn't fair or accurate to make sweeping generalizations about so large and diverse a group. In every generation, there are many who deserve praise, many who deserve contempt. People should be judged as individuals, by what they do in life.

What I'm most proud of is having been a Marine. This isn't because I was especially good at it. It's because I had to endure and overcome so much to earn the right to wear the Eagle, Globe and Anchor on my collar, and, later, silver wings on my chest, a green beret on my head. The sweetest fruits in life are those we earned. Those for which we had to work the hardest and sacrifice the most taste best of all.

The slimeballs who tell our children they are defined by the groups into which they were born rob them of the taste of these fruits. Your children and grandchildren will go farther in life if they join the Marines than if they matriculate at the University of Wisconsin-Superior.

Jack Kelly Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

© 2013, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast