Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 6, 2013/ 26 Shevat, 5773

Paul Ryan sees path ahead for GOP

By Kevin Ferris



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Paul Ryan is taking a different approach to life after a lost election than the last person who came up short in a campaign for vice president.

From election night through Inauguration Day, Ryan largely stayed below the media radar, taking some time off and then going back to his day job in Congress. As chairman of the House Budget Committee, he worked behind the scenes during the fiscal-cliff negotiations, despite a newly raised national profile that others might have used to grandstand. In the end, he supported both the compromise to prevent a tax increase on more than 98 percent of Americans, and House Speaker John A. Boehner, though many conservatives hoped he'd challenge both.

And now, post-inauguration, what's his watchword for President Obama's second term?

Prudence.

In a short, measured address to about 900 conservatives attending a summit sponsored by National Review last weekend in Washington, Ryan laid out a strategy for the next four years. There was a little bit of policy, but mostly he talked about how Republicans should responsibly handle being an opposition party, in their dealings with the president — and one another.

"Sometimes we'll have to reject the president's proposals," he said. "And sometimes we'll have to make them better."

Either way, Republicans will need to be focused on what's good for the country, not the politics.

"The president will bait us," Ryan said. "He'll portray us as cruel and unyielding. Just the other day, he said Republicans had 'suspicions' about Social Security. He said we had 'suspicions' about feeding hungry children. ... Look, it's the same trick he plays every time: Fight a straw man. Avoid honest debate. Win the argument by default. ...

"But we can't get rattled. We won't play the villain in his morality plays. We have to stay united. We have to show that — if given the chance — we can govern. We have better ideas."

To go forward, Republicans will have to be smart — and prudent.

"Prudence is good judgment in the art of governing," he said. "Abraham Lincoln called it 'one of the cardinal virtues.' And it's our greatest obligation as public servants. We have to find the good in every situation — and choose the best means to achieve it. We have to make decisions anchored in reality."

He cited Republican votes in favor of the fiscal-cliff deal as an example.

"Here's how I saw it: On Jan. 1, a $4.4 trillion tax hike took effect," he said. "The Senate voted overwhelmingly to prevent tax hikes for 98 percent of Americans. It made the lower tax rates permanent — something we couldn't achieve when George W. Bush was in office. And President Obama got less revenue than the speaker offered in the first place. In short, there was no way we'd get a better deal."

Conservatives can now use their divisions on that issue to attack one another, perhaps subjecting those who voted yes to primary challenges in 2014, or they can think strategically.

"Prudence demands mutual understanding — especially among friends," Ryan said. "My colleagues and I sought the same end: We wanted a smaller, smarter government. We simply differed on the means. That's the difficulty of governing. It shouldn't be a cause for division."

Ryan noted that James Madison, now known as the Father of the Constitution, didn't get everything he wanted out of that convention in Philadelphia in 1787. Nevertheless, he accepted the compromises made and fought hard for ratification. As a result, his adversaries drafted James Monroe to run against him for Congress — "the 18th-century equivalent of 'getting primaried,'" Ryan called it.

If Republicans are smart, and prudently manage their disagreements, they have an important role to play in the next four years, Ryan said: "to mitigate bad policy — and to advance good policy wherever we can."

He expects House Republicans to offer plans on tax reform, protecting Medicare and Medicaid, and balancing the budget. Though here, too, he understands the reality of the situation.

"Democrats are unlikely to accept our proposals," he said. "But we will lay the groundwork for future endeavors. So when reform is possible, we will be ready."

In the meantime, despite understandable discouragement and tough political fights ahead, conservatives mustn't give in to despair. They have to remain engaged, he said.

"Our country is worth the fight," Ryan said. "With your help — and with a touch of prudence — we will win it."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Kevin Ferris is commentary page editor of the Philadelphia Inquirer.



Previously:


11/06/12: Romney our best hope for Ike-like peace and prosperity
10/29/12: Obama and strength?
10/06/11: Words of hard-earned wisdom on national defense
04/06/11: A double standard on civility in politics
02/10/11: Why Bolton has an eye on 2012
07/22/10: The liberal roadblocks to shrinking government
06/16/10: A rightward sequel to Year of the Woman?
03/11/10: Dems silent on health-bill concerns
03/03/10: More than an angry mob
02/17/10: A summit for the rest of us
02/08/10: A moving tale of detainee shuffle
01/27/10: Standing for more than ‘No’
12/24/09: A duty, an honor that grows and grows
11/12/09: Obama should heed his own lofty words
11/05/09: Getting well, helping others
10/01/09: Helping the fighters thrive
09/03/09: Holder needs to explain dismissal of Philly case
08/19/09: Rage understandable, but what comes next?
08/05/09: A few words, and then some, from the Obama Center
04/29/09: Pity for ‘tortured’ terrorist?
04/22/09: For good or ill, to be a public figure is to have your image used and abused
03/11/09: GOP lacks leader but has potential
03/05/09: A dangerous naivete in foreign policy
02/25/09: Beware ‘dialogue’ on race
12/29/08: ‘Chicago II’: A governor's story
12/11/08: Operator: Welcome to transition hotline
12/03/08: How Obama will fight a growing front in Afghanistan
11/25/08: GOP ahead of curve for change
11/13/08: Prayers for President-elect Barack Obama
10/03/08: Obama's lowball attacks: Suggesting that McCain is a bigot runs afoul of the high-minded ‘unity’ tripe
09/06/08: It's unlikely that a President McCain would be driven by political ideology
09/04/08: Bold McCain will sharpen the contrasts

© 2008, Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles