Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 4, 2013/ 24 Shevat, 5773

Here's the beef about lip-syncing

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here's why people get so upset at lip-syncing. When I was a teenager, I was in a band. One summer we got a "gig" (translation: any performance outside my parents' basement.) It was an outdoor party, on a beach not far from Atlantic City.

I won't bother telling you about the roar of the surf, the 100 yards worth of extension cords or carrying a Fender Rhodes piano across the sand.

What I will say is, halfway through the first song, our band was attacked by bees. And we had to keep singing. They swarmed around. And we had to keep singing. We swatted with one hand, strummed guitars or hit a drum with the other. And we had to keep singing.

I am sure we sounded terrible. We didn't sound very good without insects. But the point was, live performance was live performance. If we had been allowed to lip-sync, we could have used both hands to spray bug repellent and still sounded better than we did.

So Sunday night, when Beyonce performs her halftime show at the Super Bowl, appreciate the fact the she has promised to do the whole thing live.

Unlike what she did at President Obama's inauguration.

"I am a perfectionist," Beyonce told the media at the Super Bowl Thursday. " . . . I did not have time to rehearse with the orchestra. . . . Due to no proper sound check, I did not feel comfortable taking a risk.

"It was about the president and the inauguration, and I wanted to make him and my country proud, so I decided to sing along with my pre-recorded track, which is very common in the music industry."

Now, there seems to be some confusion here, because singing along with a music track is not lip-syncing, it's karaoke. And if that's what Beyonce did at the inauguration, the only people angry should be the U.S. Marine Corps Band, which had to stand there listening instead of playing.

But whether Beyonce sang over a track, or mouthed over her own voice, the lip-syncing issue seems to arise fairly often around big events. Remember Faith Hill and Jennifer Hudson at the 2009 Super Bowl? Or the Beijing Olympics, when China used a lip-syncing 7-year-old during the opening ceremonies because the actual singer wasn't considered cute enough? (Pretty sure Beyonce doesn't have to worry about that.)

Personally, I blame dancing. Much of the time, when you see lip-synced performances, it's because the singers are so busy hoofing it up, they have no wind left to actually sing. If you really heard them, in the midst of all those twists, jumps and violent body shakes, it would sound like, "I . . . huh-huh-huh . . . love . . . whoo-whoo . . . grnnnzy . . . gasp, ehhhhh, gasp . . . ."

Even Beyonce admitted to the media, "I practice until my feet bleed."

Since when did singers say that?

It was easier in the old days. In the old days, you had a lead singer and backup singers, and the backups did all the dance moves, while the lead just, well, sang. Think Gladys Knight & The Pips. The Pips twirled, dipped, spun in place and got back just in time to sing, "Whoo . . . whoo . . . whooo . . . ."

You never expected Gladys to do that.

But today, singers from Madonna to Jennifer Lopez to Rihanna give such an aerobic workout, you want to throw them a towel, not a starting note. It's the reason so few of these acts use regular microphones anymore, opting for those around-the-ear types that look like they're trying to land a plane at LaGuardia.

The thing about using a pre-recorded vocal is that even vocals aren't true vocals anymore. When singers record in a studio today, everything from echo to pitch correction to doubling or tripling the voice is done by engineers who -- with current equipment -- could make Tiny Tim sound like Barry White.

So when you lip-sync to your own voice, you're still getting the benefit of all that electronic assistance. It's like throwing down some pepperoni and claiming you made the whole pizza.

Having said all this, let's be clear: there is no doubt Beyonce can sing her lungs out. She did an a capella performance at the Super Bowl news conference just to prove she's capable of an au naturel national anthem. Why she didn't do it that way for the president is beyond me.

But Sunday night, I'm sure, she will demonstrate her amazing talent. The true test, however, will not be how Beyonce sounds while dancing, shaking, or staring out at 112 million TV viewers around the world.

The true test comes when and if they release those bees.




Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2013, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast