Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 1, 2013 / 21 Shevat, 5773

Buy American and rebuild an economy

By Ann McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, the joy of finding something made in America!

Ever since ABC News focused on goods made in the good old US of A, we've become more conscious of what we buy and from whence it comes. No wonder China has so much air pollution!

I have to admit I cringe when I see that TV commercial featuring those gigantic green felt hats with the red stars and ugly stretch jeans, but the sentiment is real: We Americans have to get real about supporting our own.

The stories are now legion. Almost every product widely advertised as being made in America engenders a huge demand. A friend wanted a hoodie -- a jacket with a hood attached -- for her son for Christmas. She saw one advertised as made in America. By the time she got to the website to order one, they were sold out.

When the Tervis Tumbler company was featured on ABC News, the North Venice, Fla.-based firm sold so many beverage containers that it opened a number of new stores.

Now that's what we're talking about!

If we each commit to buying an American-made product when we need something (and when it is available), thousands of jobs are created here in America. Economists say if every American spent $64 on something made in America, we could create 200,000 jobs.

Yes, we went through the era when hundreds of American manufacturers moved their factories overseas for cheaper labor, fewer environmental regulations (see China, where fresh air is being sold on the street in soda cans) and fewer safety regulations (late last year, horrible fires killed hundreds of workers in Bangladesh and Pakistan).

Gradually, some manufacturers are realizing that there are other problems to being abroad and that returning home has benefits. If we are to restore America's middle class, for example, we must make goods here. The service industry alone won't suffice.

At times, the trend seems maddeningly slow. If you walk around your house checking to see where things are made, you quickly realize almost everything you have was not made in America. And what is made here often costs more, far more, than if it came from Southeast Asia.

Business leaders almost uniformly complain that U.S. environmental, safety and labor regulations are too harsh. And there are plenty of stupifyingly strange regulations on the books. But in these days of cost-benefit analyses, many regs are essential. When people die of meningitis caused by unsafe drugs, when green leafy vegetables sicken hundreds, when parents have to worry about the hormone levels infused in foods they feed their children -- we have to realize that all regulation is not a bad thing. And regulators must be wary: New products and new uses mean hidden dangers unsuspected by previous generations.

Some say the state of American manufacturing is just fine because we are more productive -- fewer workers make more goods. But that overlooks the thousands of factories that have closed and never reopened, leaving millions without jobs. And it overlooks the fact that there is no reason for many factories to be located overseas, employing foreigners, when American workers are some of the most hard working and most productive in the world.

The resurgence of the domestic auto industry is an encouraging piece of this puzzle. American-made cars were in danger of disappearing; now they are selling well. Just this January, Ford pledged to add 2,200 salaried jobs in the United States.

As globalization spreads, we must find a happy medium. There are things that will probably always -- at least in our lifetimes -- be cheaper and better made abroad. We want free and open trade -- after all, we want others to buy our goods and services.

But when we decided it was inevitable that the future of manufacturing was overseas, we did ourselves no favor. We arose as a nation of entrepreneurs, innovators and risk takers. It served us well, and it will again.

And now, I have a birthday present to buy. ...

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


01/18/13: There should be a (nother) law: No super-whoopee inaugurations for second-term presidents
11/29/12: Congress hates us
11/16/12: A holiday gift guide for our politicians
08/10/12: Rise in independent voters imperils moderates
07/23/12: Looking forward to the presidential debates
07/13/12: A do-nothing Congress exacts high costs
06/25/12: Take a vacation: It's your duty
06/19/12: Dems: 'Do something'
04/30/12: Will Mitt Romney finally let a hair down?
04/23/12: Warning: Nasty presidential race ahead
04/02/12: We need to talk about aging
03/26/12: A Clinton-Bush matchup in 2016?
03/19/12: Autumn presidential debate topics lining up nicely
03/12/12: Unpacking presidential campaign myths
03/05/12: Time for Romney's vision, not goofiness, gaffes
01/13/12: Romney makes life difficult with many flubs
11/24/11: Obama has most to fear from Huntsman
10/04/11: Romney looks like ‘The One’
09/28/11: At last some good news on energy
09/21/11: Time to make pols squirm
08/29/11: America still shows the power of the individual
08/17/11: Like us, Lady Liberty in disrepair, but still strong




© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles