Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

On Nutrition: Pregnancy advice from mom

By Barbara Quinn



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's not easy to be pregnant when your mom is a dietitian. My daughter reminded me of this when she called to confess that she has already gained a pound for each week of her pregnancy. And she has more than 3 months to go.

Do you want me to send you a pregnancy weight gain chart? I offered, only half kidding.

"No, Mom! It's just going to depress me!" she said, only half laughing.

Later, she assured me that growing up with a mom who counsels people about their diets "was not as bad as it sounds. You taught us how to make healthy food choices, the importance of exercise, and the phrase, 'everything in moderation. And now that I'm pregnant, I have your nutrition advice on speed dial." (Whatever that means.)

Poor thing. Her first 3 months of pregnancy were rough. Nothing stayed down and it wasn't so pleasant when it came back up. Lots of friends offered their personal remedies. But she called me because she said she knew "my personal dietician would have the latest research." Sweet.

I advised her to stick with bland, easy-to-digest foods like hot cereals, chicken broth and - the one that really worked when I was pregnant with her - crackers by the bedside before even thinking about moving in the morning. And I told her about an interesting finding that potato chips (not the whole bag, please) and lemonade were sometimes soothing for pregnant women with nausea.

When I learned of her overnight stay in the hospital for dehydration, I suggested she sip on nutrient-rich fluids such as Ensure- or Boost-type products once she got home. She did get better but says if she sees another saltine cracker, she'll throw it out the window. Another comfort, she says, was her mom's voice from so many miles away. Miss you too, honey.

So back to the weight gain. With her nausea much improved, her appetite came back with a vengeance. After she and her husband enjoyed the holidays at home with family, she called me in a panic.

"I gained 8 pounds in two weeks! Is that bad?"

Well…it is a bit excessive, I said gingerly. (Although women need to gain weight during pregnancy, excess weight gain may increase a woman's risk for complications, according to current guidelines by the National Institutes of Medicine.)

I gently reminded her that the expected weight gain for the first 12 weeks of pregnancy is only 1 to 4 pounds. After that, most women have better outcomes with a weight gain in the half pound to 1 pound per week range. (Women who begin pregnancy overweight are advised to gain at the lower end of this scale.)

Now that she was feeling better, I said lovingly, she may want to resume some "pregnancy- appropriate" physical activity. (No ice hockey or weight-lifting, for example.) Water exercise, I suggested, can be a nice "lift" for swollen bellies and - according to a recent study - may help prepare a woman for a less painful delivery.

So in true style, my eldest daughter signed up for a water aerobics class at her local YMCA. And she started tracking her calorie intake.

And then I needed to remind her not to overdo her great health habits. Pregnant mommies need rest. Pre-born babies need to grow. And I do believe she is listening…to her body…as well as her doctor and her dietitian mom. And that is good for her mental health as well.

My daughter wrote to me recently, "I smile when I think about the special bond I hope to share with the growing baby girl inside of me, just like I share with you. I pray I can be as good a mom to my baby as my mom has been to me. The one difference is I probably won't offer to send her a pregnancy weight chart when she's expecting."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Barbara Quinn is a registered dietitian and certified diabetes educator at the Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula.



Previously:


Terminology review

Thoughts for the New Year
Reasons to have a cup of tea
What's new for 2012
Applications for healthy living
Clarifying organic terminology
Facts about type 1 diabetes
Myths and facts about diabetes
Food Still Better Than Supplements
Celiac questions


© 2011, The Monterey County Herald Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles