Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 20, 2012/ 27 Shevat, 5772

Death for Houston as sad as her life

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | By the time you read this, Whitney Houston will have hopefully, finally, been laid to rest.

Which is far different than how she was treated for the six days after she died.

During that time, Houston was dissected, analyzed, criticized and scrutinized by a steady parade of former addicts, therapists, doctors -- even political commentators like Bill O'Reilly, who claimed to have said "a prayer" when he heard about Houston dying, then proceeded to scream to the country "Whitney Houston killed herself!"

Every news program, talk show, radio station and blog weighed in on Houston, it seemed. And every five seconds, some "expert" opinion was offered.

What most of these people had in common -- besides an unhealthy need to jump in front of a microphone -- is that they didn't know Houston personally. Maybe they met her a few times. Maybe they had a conversation. Maybe not even that.

It didn't stop them from telling national TV audiences what she must have been thinking, or what motivated her alleged early drinks at a hotel, or why she wound up dead in a bathtub at age 48.

I don't know about you, but when my time comes, I really don't want anyone I didn't call family explaining my demise.

Don't we all deserve that?

Apparently not when you are well known in this country.

Instead you get actor Daniel Baldwin (one question: why?) telling CNN "I don't think she was applying herself and taking action in order to maintain her sobriety."

You get former addict and Motley Crue bassist Nikki Sixx, who admitted he didn't know Houston, criticizing her doctors.

You get O'Reilly, who told a Fox morning program, "This is ridiculous. Whitney Houston killed herself. ... You don't spend $100 million on (drugs) not wanting to kill yourself. So why aren't we telling the truth to young people in America?"

Well, first of all, many addicts, despite their troubles, don't want to kill themselves. Secondly, what truth are we not telling young people in America? For goodness sakes. We've had entertainers dying from substance abuse for as long as anyone who is alive in this country can remember.

Consider a brief list of names:

Judy Garland, Billie Holiday, Marilyn Monroe, Dinah Washington, Lenny Bruce, Jim Morrison, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Elvis Presley, Kurt Cobain, John Belushi, Michael Jackson, Amy Winehouse.

What truth are we not telling young people? If you don't know that alcohol and drugs can lead to death by this point, you are simply choosing not to pay attention.

On the other hand, we might want to check our own addiction -- to jumping to conclusions while wringing every last drop out of famous people's misfortune.

The official coroner's report on Houston won't be available for weeks. Do you think anyone in this business would wait for that? Weeks? They'll be onto something else by then. The time to strike is now!

So you get talk show bookers frantically dialing self-help authors or performers with drug experience, not because they care about Whitney Houston, but because she is a hot topic. So too, it seems, is the debate over whether this was a worthy death. Many argued over New Jersey's decision to fly flags at half-staff for Houston on Saturday.

Does anyone consider, before spewing all this vitriol, that a woman died here? Sure, it may have been related to drugs and alcohol. But how many less famous Americans die every day due to what they drank, the foods they ate, what they smoked or the stress they kept piling on their bodies? Substance abuse didn't begin with the woman who sang "I Will Always Love You."

Here's what I think about Whitney Houston -- not that it matters. I think a young woman died and it's heartbreaking. And I hope those who love her -- and truly knew her -- can find comfort.

Everything else is beside the point. The truth is, in the media business, it's amazing how often we claim to be caring about the welfare of others, when we are really just serving our own purpose.



Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles