Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 13, 2012/ 20 Shevat, 5772

Cupid's arrow not what it used to be

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I found Cupid sitting in a cubicle.

He was working on a computer. He wore a coat over his wings. I might never have recognized him, if not for the chubby legs that didn't reach the ground.

Also, the bow and arrow on the floor.

"What are you doing here?" I asked. "It's almost Valentine's Day. Shouldn't you be flying around, making people fall in love?"

"Those days are over," he sighed.

"Over?"

"Everything's on the Internet now."

He nodded to his computer. On the screen was one of those dating websites, Match.com or eHarmony. He tapped the face of a middle-aged salesman and dragged it across to an auburn-haired schoolteacher.

"That's my new arrow. Just move the cursor."

He shrugged.

"There's even an app for it," he said.

"Wait a minute," I protested. "You're Cupid, son of Venus. You're a legend -- or at least a myth! What are you doing in cyberspace?"

"Step into the 21st century, mister," he said. "This is what romance is now. She makes her list. He makes his list. She makes a request. He gives a response. She emails. He emails. Maybe they meet. Maybe they don't."

He shook his head. "It ain't Anthony and Cleopatra, if you know what I mean."

Poor little fellow. He looked so out of place. His tiny harp was stuffed in a gym bag. He wore shoes that covered the little wings on his ankles. All around the office, men and women were so engrossed in work, they didn't realize the legend of love was among them.

"I'm used to it," he admitted. "True love is a thing of the past. Today it's movie love, or computer love, or reality TV love."

"What kind is that?" I asked.

"The kind where a marriage lasts 73 days, and someone else pays for the wedding."

"Oh. Right."

I tried to cheer him up. I reminded him that people still got hitched. He said 50 percent got divorced. I said couples still waltzed and tangoed. He said they were trying to make "Dancing With the Stars."

I said there was still romantic music being written. He said, "Oh, yeah? Like 'My Humps' by The Black Eyed Peas?"

"OK, you got me there," I said.

Of course, once, men wrote songs to Cupid. Starry-eyed dreamers implored him to draw back his bow, let the arrow go, straight to their lovers' hearts. Shakespeare penned sonnets to Cupid. Milton wrote poetry.

Now, here he was, working websites.

It was all so sad.

"People don't believe in romance anymore," he said. "They believe in hooking up. They believe in texting. They believe in 'The Bachelor.' They think 'The Millionaire Matchmaker' actually knows what she's talking about.

"They believe in overseas brides. Pole dancing lessons. 'Jersey Shore.' Charlie Sheen and his goddesses.

"I can't break through. I mean, what's one little arrow going to do against the Kardashians?"

He exhaled. Wow. Could love truly be in such danger this Valentine's Day?

Suddenly, across the office, a woman let out a sigh. Her computer had crashed. "I've had it!" she cried and headed for the door.

At the same time, a man in the corner saw his computer churning smoke. He pulled out the plug, threw up his hands and headed for the exit.

"What about those two?" I asked.

Cupid eyed me mischievously.

"I couldn't," he said.

"You could," I said.

"I shouldn't," he said.

"You should," I said.

"Well," he said, reaching down toward his feet. "They do have something in common...."

Suddenly, he was up in the air, his wings exposed, his curly hair flowing. I heard harp music. He pulled back his bow. He aimed for the couple, true love about to take winged flight, when--

"HE'S GOT A WEAPON!"

Pow! Cupid was tackled by two security guards and dragged away.

Which only proves, as the old song says, that the thing most in need of love today -- is love.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles